Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I used Fuji apples,as they are much more moist, also used a shake of real maple syrup. Everyone rated them a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannaluvsgrands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Really good. I omitted nuts and the spices. Instead I used orange extract; made for a perfect breakfast muffin in combo with the apple and cranberries. Does not taste too "whole wheat-y." Made 12 muffins, baked at 350 for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I went the muffin-top route since I'm overseas and don't have a muffin tin. I also used white flour, golden raisins, and no nuts. Delicious! My son can't eat sugar and has been begging me for his own dessert. This was it. He's happy tonight. I would have given this 5 stars, but since I used white instead of wheat, I couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made these yesterday and my boyfriend loved them. I did make a few changes. First, I didn't use nuts or cranberries and I also didn't have any fresh apples on hand. So I used applesauce instead and I also added a banana to the mixture before baking. I also cut out the nutmeg. They turned out really well. The recipe is kind of small so next time I'd probably double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Used as a base, this recipe turned out great with exceptionally moist muffins, although I made a number of adjustments. Doubled the recipe and used 2 cups whole milk which I soaked the oats in for about 20 minutes first. I used a full cup of dark brown sugar, 2 grated apples (medium large), 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, and 1/2 cup butter. I always use real butter in place of oil for baking, although sometimes I cut the amount in half if a recipe calls for a lot of oil/butter. I like big muffins similar to what you get at the bakery but they need extra time to cook at slightly lower heat. Using a large muffin pan that holds six, I made two batches at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Presto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Pretty good... I substituted a little more than 1/3 cup brown rice syrup for the sugar and used half white flour and half whole wheat flour. Also 15 minutes was plenty of time in my oven!! Will probably make again and add flax to make even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These muffins are healthy and very delicious!!My Mom and I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
These were very good. I didn't have any eggs in the house so I substituted 2 tbsp corn starch mixed with 2 tbsp water and added an extra tbsp of oil. Turned out great. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raspberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
As far as healthy muffins go, these were really pretty good. My 3 year old and 1 year old ate them, and they reject "healthy" muffins alot. I used white flour (OK so not as healthy!), whole milk, shredded the apple and added frozen raspberries. The battery was a little liquidy, but that turned out to be OK. I used regular not quick cook oatmeal and came out a little crunchy. Also cooked at 350. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I LOVED this recipe as a healthy option and is great asa breakfast muffin. Theo nly changes I made, based on the other reviews was changing the temp. to 350, I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, I did'nt have half and half cream so I used 1% milk and it was fine, I also added ground flax seed. The walnuts, dried cranberries and apple are amazing together in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States