Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very tasty and pretty healthy. I just made these and am finishing one as I write this...I didn't have half and half so I so substituted equal parts heavy cream and skim milk and they're a bit too crumbly, so I'd go for the 1/2 and 1/2 next time. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I agree that these were too dry. I used buttermilk and grated the apple. They also have a strong flavor of baking powder, even though they did not rise much. Will definitely keep looking for a better oatmeal apple muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These are delicious! So good it's almost like dessert! I followed the recipe for the most part, though I did increase to 1/4 cup of oil, shredded the apple, used regular milk w/ vinegar trick and added 1/2 cup diced dried apricots. I reduced the oven temp to 375 degrees. These were very, very good. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These turned out really good! Having read previous reviews that they were dry, I added an extra TBsp of oil. I didn't have all the ingredients so I substituted: skim milk instead of half-and-half, unbleached flour instead of whole wheat, and pecans instead of walnuts. Fuji apple chunks really made them super moist and sweet. Great for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These were pretty good and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is exactly the kind of flexible recipe I was looking for this morning to scrape together a Sunday breakfast. I did two batches of these (big family). I omitted the walnuts and cranberries in both. In the first batch I used a large granny smith apple, shredding 1/3 (for the moisture) and chopping 2/3 (cause I love those apple pieces). I didn't have any half and half (or milk, even) so I scraped together 3/4 cup homemade yogurt (adding a bit of water to the jar and shaking!) I also used 1/2 cup pure maple syrup instead of sugar (we like to use unprocessed sugars), all whole wheat flour, and expeller expressed safflower oil. Also, 1T of baking powder seemed a lot to me, so I used just under 1T. This filled a large 12 cup muffin stone pan. For the second batch I did all the same except I used 2 small fancy red apples, chopping one and shredding one. And for the dairy used 1/4 cup of the yogurt and the other 1/2 cup I used fresh from the farm jersey cream. I got 40 mini muffins out of this batch. Both were really fluffy, soft and apple cinnamony. :) Will definitely be using this again. Thanks! Oh, I almost forgot I baked these at 400, 20 minutes for the large muffins and 10 minutes for the mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I just made these and thought they were good. I was hesitant to make them because of some of the reviews said they were dense. I went ahead and made them and I'm not disappointed. I made only 2 changes. I shredded the apple and baked at 375. I didn't add quite as much cinnamon because they are for my toddler and didn't want them too "spicey". But I didn't think they were dense. Oh, and I chopped my cranberries so that my little one couldn't pick them out and didn't add the full amount. She liked them and I liked them. Simple, nothing fancy, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These turned out quite nicely...first, the temperature is definitely wrong, which would explain some of the low reviews, I think. I baked at 350 and made some modifications due to lack of ingredients in my pantry. I used 2% milk instead of ff half & half, 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white flour, left out the nuts and dried fruit. I grated 2 smallish apples and threw in a handful of peanut butter chips. My daughter is enjoying these for a healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Tried these at my mother's. They are great! She made the following changes: Instead of half & half she used Silk French Vanilla Creamer. She subbed turbinado raw sugar. Instead of flour she used Bob's Red Mill Spice Apple Bran Muffin Mix. Measured out 1 cup of chopped apples and used pecans instead of walnuts. Then after they cooked she also spread 1/2 tsp of honey on the top of each warm muffin. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These were tasty, but I had to make some modifications to suit my family. I used whole wheat pastry flour to lighten the texture, added another apple, and used 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 1/3 cup granulated sugar. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States