Oat and Herb Encrusted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This is a nice low fat recipe. I used equal parts bread crumbs and oats and I think this would have been quite bland with just the oats, however the sauce is very yummy and you could serve it on plain turkey and it would be yummy regardless. I think the dry mixture could use some work, but this is a good recipe to use as a start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was tasty. I used ground lean turkey formed into patties because my grocery store was out of turkey breasts. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and these turned out very tasty. Pretty low in fat, but still satisfying. The sauce was yummy too, and I put it on the side for dipping. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was great! Me and my boyfriend really loved it. I changed the recipe a bit. I substituted sour cream for yogurt and chicken breasts for turkey. I also poured the mustard/milk mixture in the pan with the chicken while it cooked and it came out juicy and flavourful. We had it over brown rice. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Good but we thought the herbs were a little overpowering. 1/2 the amount called for would be better with perhaps a little garlic salt. I used 1/2 oats and 1/2 panko bread crumbs, which created a nice texture. I also let the turkey soak in the milk mixture for about 5 mins for added moisture. I didn't have yogurt so used sour cream thinned out with a little milk. The sauce was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was a good basic recipe, but like other reviewers I made modifications. I used about half oatmeal and half Italian bread crumbs and added 1/4 c wheat germ. I also used 1/2 yogurt and 1/2 milk and the mustard. To try to prevent the crumb topping from drying out I also spray the top of it with EVOO. A great healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great! The sauce is fantastic and so very easy. I did do as another reviewer suggested and used half oats half organic italian breadcrumbs. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Sooo good!! We espcially loved it with the sauce -- don't skip it or you'll miss out. I might use a little less of the sage/rosemary spice next time, but this was such a tasty, healthy recipe. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Very quick and easy to make and yet very yummy. Was fabulous with fresh sage and rosemary. I'm not a big mustard fan, but I really liked this ( I didn't use the yogurt-mustard seed dipping sauce, I used ranch dressing ). I have made this at least once a week and sometimes use chicken instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I've made this a few times now and I've really enjoyed it. The yogurt sauce is great and the turkey is interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
My husband enjoyed this. I used poultry seasoning instead of rosemary. I baked mine a little longer than the recipe called for to get it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States