Oat and Herb Encrusted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
While I really like chicken and turkey, I find poultry rather tasteless and bland. It always needs a little help. With this recipe, I combined the yoghurt and a Chardonnay dijon (I amped up the mustard too) and used it to marinate the turkey breasts. I skipped the milk mixture. The oatmeal didn't sound all that appealing so I toast mine which gave it a bit of a nuttier taste. Another trick I used was to place the breasts on a rack in the oven so the oatmeal underneath didn't get mushy. I'm going to make this again and play around with the herbs and spices. This recipe definately has potential just needs a bit of a tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was okay. The turkey didn't get as much flavor as I was hoping for, even after I let it rest with the oat breading on it for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
My husband enjoyed this. I used poultry seasoning instead of rosemary. I baked mine a little longer than the recipe called for to get it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Few tiny changes, but overall I really enjoyed this easy recipe! I pulverized the oats to help the breading stick a little better. I used savory instead of sage because I didn't have any sage. I put the spices in when I pulverized. I also sprinkled a little seasoned salt before baking. Didn't have whole grain mustard, so I used spicy brown mustard for both. Wonderful flavor; I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrabbApple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
We did not like it. It was way too overboard on the herbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We aren’t huge fans of sage or rosemary so I decided to use different herbs: thyme, oregano and garlic. I also mixed bread crumbs in with the oats on the recommendation of other reviewers. I also used half the spices called for because it sounded like A LOT to me, especially with the mustard. It smelled amazing while it was baking (hence the 3 stars) but my fiancé and I agreed that it was still too much once we tried it. The flavor was good but it was so overpowering and I wish I’d decreased it even more than I did. I’m not sure I’d try this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I was dissappointed with this recipe. I figured it would be great with all the good reviews, but for me, the oats did nothing for the turkey and the herb combination just tasted like grass, even after I added salt. My husband liked it a little, but agreed the oats were odd and added nothing to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Osceola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I just did not like this flavor combination. Did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
i didn't like this at all. the dipping sauce was great but the turkey was rather tasteless considering all the spices etc. that are put on it. it never reached 180 degrees on it's own (even within 40 minutes) so i had to cut it up into little pieces and cook it to get the pink out. it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was great! Me and my boyfriend really loved it. I changed the recipe a bit. I substituted sour cream for yogurt and chicken breasts for turkey. I also poured the mustard/milk mixture in the pan with the chicken while it cooked and it came out juicy and flavourful. We had it over brown rice. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States