Oat and Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dreambig
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is the perfect recipe for flavorful, healthy muffins! I tried many substitutes as an experiment, and they still turned out successful! Here is what I changed: 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. regular flour, 2/3 c. brown sugar instead of 3/4 white sugar, and 3/4 c. applesauce instead of 1/2 c. applesauce. Here is what I added: 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/3 c. wheat bran, and 1/3 c. ground flaxseed. My hope is to use this as a base recipe for other muffin flavors by replacing the type of fruit and by adding nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momrothman
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
My daughter made these for a school project and they came out great! She made them even healthier by using whole wheat flour and only a 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Made with 1/2c rolled oats and 1/2c quick oats (for the 1c whole grain cereal) and fresh cranberries instead of blueberries. Everyone in our house enjoyed these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Cooked perfectly doubled the recipe and used all applesauce as i had no yogurt, delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
These muffins are hearty and tasty. I used old fashioned oats instead of quick oats, and only used 2/3 cup. and 1 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda, instead of 2 tsp baking powder. I also added a little nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Experimented with this reciepe as an early morning snack prior to a day of snow tubbing. They were a big hit with the group. I was impressed by the moistness and I love using applesauce and yogurt instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Fantastic recipe. My husband will only eat breakfast if you send it out the door with him - so I'm baking half a dozen giant muffins a week, and always on the lookout for new recipes. This time I had some fruit yogurt to use up, and the blackberries are ripe in our backyard. I whipped up the whole lot in the cuisinart to break down the oats (hubby doesn't like any hint of "nutrition" in his food) and added a little more flour to compensate. I stirred in the berries by hand. Next time, I will substitute cucumber puree for the applesauce to add a little hidden green to his diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Good muffin, if a little gooey. Great basic recipe. I used whole wheat flour and added 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp salt, only 1/2 c sugar and closer to 2/3 c applesauce (probably why a little gooey)....the magic happened on the second batch when I decided to add 2/3 c wheat bran, and used 2/3 c (scant) dark brown sugar rather than white...mmm mmm good :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These were really simple to make and very flavorful! I was looking for a more nutritious and filling muffin for everyone to grab a quick breakfast and these do just that. The only change I made was using 1/4 cup of natural agave syrup in place of the sugar. These smell great while baking and I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe with a few modifications 1/2 cup of all purpose flour & 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States