Oat Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This worked out very well for me. It is obviously a little denser than white bread, but overall for as much whole wheat as it has, it is lighter than I expected. And I used only one cup of all-purpose (used one cup of white whole wheat flour for the other). Ground the oatmeal in a coffee grinder--thanks, other reviewers for this tip! Omitted the sugar and used 2 tbsp honey and 1 tbsp molasses to sweeten. If you want a nice texture in this loaf, be sure you knead well--for the FULL 8 minutes, as this activates the gluten. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I followed the advice of Faiora and doubled the oats (ground into powder with a coffee grinder) and added 1 Tbsp wheat gluten per cup of flour. I must have had bad yeast because I couldn't get it to rise. I ended up making tortillas and loved them. I'm trying again with rapid rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is DELICIOUS bread! I ground the oatmeal into a 'flour' like you said. As toast with butter and jam, MMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
A few have mentioned having trouble with this loaf rising - I added 1tbsp vital wheat gluten for each cup of flour in the recipe, which is something I often add because I use 100% whole wheat (no white/all-purpose) flour. I found that the loaf rose VERY well for me. I should also note that I added 1 cup of oats, ground up, rather than 1/2 because the oats just smelled so good I couldn't help myself :P ...No other changes. This turned out -AMAZING-. I love oats...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I tried this bread and love it. It is dense but with 2 1/2 cups wheat flour and oatmeal that is to be expected. My loaves are in a zip lock bag, they are moist and delicious. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this bread because it was simple and needed very little yeast. It is the third whole wheat recipe I have tried and it is absolutely incredible! I just tasted a piece fresh from the oven and I was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
If you're looking for a nice, rising bread, this is not it. I tried it twice with the same results--no rise. Tastes okay, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is a really great recipe, but it took a very long time for my dough to rise for some reason. I followed twistedsisterl's advice and ground the oats in my coffee grinder, and I used one large loaf pan instead of two smaller ones. The next time I make it, I think I will add about 1/4 cup honey, as I would have liked a little more sweetness to it. It was a very dense bread. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My Danish grandmother made a similar bread with whole wheat, white flour, and barley flour, so this recipe appealed to me. This bread came out very nice, I did make a change to the recipe, I added cooked pearled barley to the dough to make little "barley berries" in the bread. I left the rolled oats whole, not "blendered" into flour, but I liked these interesting textures in the bread. I made two loaves using 8 1/2" x 4 1/2" glass pans. This bread had great texture, stayed soft and moist for the few days it took to eat it, and held together beautifully when sliced for toasting. It did not rise very high when shaped into loaves, which surprised me because it rose very high initially, but good enough. It was heavenly sliced warm from the oven with butter and honey. Be sure to knead this dough very well initially to develop the smooth even texture in the final loaf. I did also melt a little butter over the tops of the loaves when first out of the oven to keep them soft. This was delicious! Some in my house who generally only prefer white breads, loved this hot from the oven, and toasted for breakfast. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is my recipe...though named differently by the allrecipes crew. Just so you know...I always grind the oatmeal into a 'flour' before adding, there are no 'chunks' in this bread. Also, all recipes states this should be put into 2 loaf pans...not so. If you have used 2 cups of milk...then this should go in one large loaf pan. This big loaf really should be crusty on the outside and soft and moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States