Oat Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have been making bread for over 15 years now, and this is the best one I've ever made! It was gone within an hour because everybody loved it. I'm about to make more now, and will probably make it regularly. I did add some wheat gluten because I always do, and a tablespoon of honey. This would make a perfect base bread. You could add rosemary, garlic and oregano for an Italian seasoned bread. You could add cinnamon, sugar, and vanilla for a breakfast-y bread. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made this recipe twice tonight and it turned out wonderful both times. I altered the recipe a little bit. I used non-dairy creamer mixed with the water instead of milk because my family has milk allergies. I used Splenda brown sugar instead of the white sugar because my husband is diabetic. I used oat flour instead of the whole wheat flour because my husband's sugar doesn't spike so bad with oat flour. The recipe worked perfectly. It is so nice to find a bread recipe that works for a family that is so soft and doesn't crumble. The first batch didn't last the evening and so I needed a second batch for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Oregon, USA
Living In: Robertsdale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beachbaby 72
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Best whole wheat bread. I have been baking breads for over thirty years and the texture and ease in preparation gave it five stars. I used water instead of milk and only whole wheat flour and it baked up perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Good flavor, good for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I am making this right now, I was reading the reviews and seeing it doesn't rise very well, I used an instant yeast instead of regular yeast, I have also allowed extra (and some ;-) ) time to rise, it seems to be rising well... can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I didn't give this enough time to rise, and it was very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This bread was soft and delicious! This is one of the best breads I have tasted. Even my husband, who isn't so fond of whole wheat, enjoys it. This is definately my go to recipe for whole wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is definitely a dense bread, very moist inside. The texture is chewy but the flavor is very good. It rose beautifully outside of the oven but definitely didn't rise further in the oven, unlike some other bread I have made. I used quick oats but substituted some with steel-cut oats and ground the mixture first. Overall I liked the break and will make again if the family likes it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I substituted non-fat milk for 2% (but added 2 tbspn of melted butter) and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Wonderful! Thank you for the recipe! My family likes our bread fresh so I simply halved the recipe and make one loaf. The only substitution I made was with the milk. I used half water and half buttermilk. The acid in the buttermilk helps the bread rise and makes it soft and fluffy. I also heated the milk mixture to 110-always do. Don't know if it makes a difference or not. Tonight I made it again (Last night's loaf is long gone) and just put the ingredients in my bread maker. I removed it from the machine when it had 15 minutes left on the bake cycle-perfect loaf again - in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States