Oat Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Good flavor, good for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I am making this right now, I was reading the reviews and seeing it doesn't rise very well, I used an instant yeast instead of regular yeast, I have also allowed extra (and some ;-) ) time to rise, it seems to be rising well... can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I didn't give this enough time to rise, and it was very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This bread was soft and delicious! This is one of the best breads I have tasted. Even my husband, who isn't so fond of whole wheat, enjoys it. This is definately my go to recipe for whole wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is definitely a dense bread, very moist inside. The texture is chewy but the flavor is very good. It rose beautifully outside of the oven but definitely didn't rise further in the oven, unlike some other bread I have made. I used quick oats but substituted some with steel-cut oats and ground the mixture first. Overall I liked the break and will make again if the family likes it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I substituted non-fat milk for 2% (but added 2 tbspn of melted butter) and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Wonderful! Thank you for the recipe! My family likes our bread fresh so I simply halved the recipe and make one loaf. The only substitution I made was with the milk. I used half water and half buttermilk. The acid in the buttermilk helps the bread rise and makes it soft and fluffy. I also heated the milk mixture to 110-always do. Don't know if it makes a difference or not. Tonight I made it again (Last night's loaf is long gone) and just put the ingredients in my bread maker. I removed it from the machine when it had 15 minutes left on the bake cycle-perfect loaf again - in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was AMAZING! I didn't want to make a large amount of bread since there are only two people in my household, so I halved the recipe. I don't have a candy or insta-read thermometer, so I actually used a regular digital read thermometer to make sure the milk was at the right temperature! I didn't add the wheat gluten (as many other people recommended), but I made sure to knead the dough for the whole 8 minutes to break up the gluten already in the wheat flour. For this reason, I had NO problems with it rising properly. I ended up making two sub-sized rolls with half of this recipe. It is VERY light and fluffy without being sticky, much like what you'd buy in the supermarket! This recipe is a great starting one - you could easily change the type of flour and/or add in other ingredients like sunflower seeds, crushed nuts, fruits, herbs, or anything you like! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Tasted okay, but too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I had not made yeast bread in many years, so was delighted when this actually rose! Good taste and texture; good for toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States