Oat Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I blended in some bell peppers and added a a bit of chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONJAROX
Home Town: Erd, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Don't let the name keep you from making this soup. A very good recipe if you like cilantro and garlic, and we do!! I added another clove of garlic, used low sodium chicken bouillon and canned no sodium added tomatoes. I sprayed the pan w/Pam and only used 1 Tbl of olive oil. It was still very good. I imagine it would be even better as written, but we are attempting to cut down on sodium and fat.With my changes, it is much lower in sodium and fat. Next time I will add some jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I love this soup! And it is good for me (I spray the pan with pam and use only 1 Tbs oil). My husband even likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
i like this soup my girlfriend didnt like the texture but we both thought it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This soup is amazing. It does NOT sound like it would be so good--but it is. I use no oil, only Pam spray (I spray the oats several times while toasting) to cut the calories. I use extra cilantro and garlic, and occasionally I add a few squeezes of fresh lime. SO DELICIOUS for a super-duper low-calorie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a nice, hearty soup that tastes even better the longer it sits. It didn't seem like much as I was putting it together, but once it had simmered and the oats had plumped up, it was delicious. The toasted oats give the soup such a unique flavor. I used vegetable broth, and I was out of onion; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly (I do think it could use a bit more garlic). My boyfriend, who's a soup junkie, loves this so much he wants to start making it on a weekly basis for his lunches. The beauty of this recipe is there's so much room for interpretation--you can use different fresh herbs and/or add in a few veggies for variety (I'm thinking basil, pureed red pepper, and mushrooms...mmm!). Bonus points for ease of preparaton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I'm picky about soups, especially this type, and I thought this was great. The oats turn out similar to barley. I do think the title is misleading. The main flavor is the tomato not the oats. Maybe "Tomato Oat Soup"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great soup for a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Not at all what I expected, but it was delicious. It was a bit thick and didn't look quite as red as it does in the picture, so I thought i did something wrong, but it was fabulous! I guess some tomatoes just give more color than others..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Wonderful, hearty, filling and guilt-free. I added the juice of two limes and black pepper and can hardly wait to try this with basil instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States