Oat Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a nice, hearty soup that tastes even better the longer it sits. It didn't seem like much as I was putting it together, but once it had simmered and the oats had plumped up, it was delicious. The toasted oats give the soup such a unique flavor. I used vegetable broth, and I was out of onion; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly (I do think it could use a bit more garlic). My boyfriend, who's a soup junkie, loves this so much he wants to start making it on a weekly basis for his lunches. The beauty of this recipe is there's so much room for interpretation--you can use different fresh herbs and/or add in a few veggies for variety (I'm thinking basil, pureed red pepper, and mushrooms...mmm!). Bonus points for ease of preparaton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
It is good as long as we don't overdo the garlic.I had also put some carrot in it.As Oat is quite filling I could not eat much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This is a quick, simple and filling meal. I slightly over did the garlic though, should have followed the recipe! Unusual but good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This soup is amazing. It does NOT sound like it would be so good--but it is. I use no oil, only Pam spray (I spray the oats several times while toasting) to cut the calories. I use extra cilantro and garlic, and occasionally I add a few squeezes of fresh lime. SO DELICIOUS for a super-duper low-calorie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
i like this soup my girlfriend didnt like the texture but we both thought it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This recipe is very similar to "Sour Cereal" with the exception of the chicken bouillion. I used to eat it for breakfast every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I love this soup! And it is good for me (I spray the pan with pam and use only 1 Tbs oil). My husband even likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Don't let the name keep you from making this soup. A very good recipe if you like cilantro and garlic, and we do!! I added another clove of garlic, used low sodium chicken bouillon and canned no sodium added tomatoes. I sprayed the pan w/Pam and only used 1 Tbl of olive oil. It was still very good. I imagine it would be even better as written, but we are attempting to cut down on sodium and fat.With my changes, it is much lower in sodium and fat. Next time I will add some jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States