Oat Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Wonderful, hearty, filling and guilt-free. I added the juice of two limes and black pepper and can hardly wait to try this with basil instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Not at all what I expected, but it was delicious. It was a bit thick and didn't look quite as red as it does in the picture, so I thought i did something wrong, but it was fabulous! I guess some tomatoes just give more color than others..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great soup for a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Good soup! The oatmeal largely works like barley: providing substance and just a little "background" flavor to what is essentially tomato soup. I'm not sure the cilantro added much ... and the soup could use some additional "dimension." I used some great late-summer tomatoes from the farmer's market....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rema
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This soup sounded really good since I love cilantro. It really tasted a lot like salsa. I added just a bit more salt and some black pepper because it was a bit bland. The extra salt really brought out more of the flavor. I'm not sure if I let it sit too long, but the oats got pretty thick so it was more like a porridge than a soup. I still really liked it. I might try it again using barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was just ok. I made as directed. It is a tomato soup - you can't taste the oat flavor. Not sure what's missing - maybe more salt and/or lime juice, since the rest is much like salsa ingredients. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
We don't usually eat tomato soups, but this one was a winner. Next time I might add more oats, but the cilantro really made the soup. I froze half of it for later and will definitely make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Weird combination of flavors - not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I'm picky about soups, especially this type, and I thought this was great. The oats turn out similar to barley. I do think the title is misleading. The main flavor is the tomato not the oats. Maybe "Tomato Oat Soup"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a nice, hearty soup that tastes even better the longer it sits. It didn't seem like much as I was putting it together, but once it had simmered and the oats had plumped up, it was delicious. The toasted oats give the soup such a unique flavor. I used vegetable broth, and I was out of onion; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly (I do think it could use a bit more garlic). My boyfriend, who's a soup junkie, loves this so much he wants to start making it on a weekly basis for his lunches. The beauty of this recipe is there's so much room for interpretation--you can use different fresh herbs and/or add in a few veggies for variety (I'm thinking basil, pureed red pepper, and mushrooms...mmm!). Bonus points for ease of preparaton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States