Oat Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
i tried it and it's really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorudgar
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Wonderful, hearty, filling and guilt-free. I added the juice of two limes and black pepper and can hardly wait to try this with basil instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Not at all what I expected, but it was delicious. It was a bit thick and didn't look quite as red as it does in the picture, so I thought i did something wrong, but it was fabulous! I guess some tomatoes just give more color than others..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great soup for a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Good soup! The oatmeal largely works like barley: providing substance and just a little "background" flavor to what is essentially tomato soup. I'm not sure the cilantro added much ... and the soup could use some additional "dimension." I used some great late-summer tomatoes from the farmer's market....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rema
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This soup sounded really good since I love cilantro. It really tasted a lot like salsa. I added just a bit more salt and some black pepper because it was a bit bland. The extra salt really brought out more of the flavor. I'm not sure if I let it sit too long, but the oats got pretty thick so it was more like a porridge than a soup. I still really liked it. I might try it again using barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was just ok. I made as directed. It is a tomato soup - you can't taste the oat flavor. Not sure what's missing - maybe more salt and/or lime juice, since the rest is much like salsa ingredients. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
We don't usually eat tomato soups, but this one was a winner. Next time I might add more oats, but the cilantro really made the soup. I froze half of it for later and will definitely make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Weird combination of flavors - not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I'm picky about soups, especially this type, and I thought this was great. The oats turn out similar to barley. I do think the title is misleading. The main flavor is the tomato not the oats. Maybe "Tomato Oat Soup"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States