Oat Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Excellent! I was amazed how good this soup was. I browned the oats and then I used a can tomatoes with onion and garlic already in it. I added the water and the chicken soup seasoning. I chopped and included the cilantro but I think I would leave it out next time. It just didn't need it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I'm sorry, I hate leaving a bad review, but this soup was not good. I made it exactly as stated in the recipe. We've made many soup recipes here on allrecipes and all the high reviews have paid off. This time however, it was really pretty rough. Not gag rough, but I couldn't finish a small bowl. The oats were a very funky texture in the soup. The cilantro, onion, and tomato were not good as a soup combined with oats. (note cilantro, onion, and tomato are part of most salsa recipes) It's like a bowl of hot - garlic - oatmeal - oil - salsa. It tastes just as it sounds. But the twist is the chicken bullion, as the recipe tries to mimick a basis of hamburger soup but does not pull it off at all. I thought the ingredients sounded strange, but thought it would be different when all combined. It really was not. It was not disgusting, but where I just didn't like it. I am not sure why this is rated so high. Thanks anyway for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
We really liked this soup, but I did add a habanero, sliced open while this cooked. Then I removed the pepper when I served the soup. It was easy to prepare, nutritious , and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This recipe is what I'd like to call a "sleeper"; that is, the name suggests a rather boring old soup made with basic ingredients. Then you throw it together and BAM! The "little soup that could" has given you a run for your money. First off- I know nothing about oats. I don't care for oatmeal; I have a container of "rolled oats" in my pantry for when I make meatloaf. But. That's. It. So when I decided to give this recipe a whirl, I wasn't quite sure what kind of oats would suffice. I crossed my fingers that the ol' Rolled Oats would (FYI- they work). I followed the recipe as written, except I used six Roma tomatoes (I'm a fan of the lil' guys, plus they're generally cheaper than their Hot-House and other tomato variety cousins) and I had a lonely red bell pepper in the fridge, so I chopped that up and threw it in the blender as well. I also added a good dash of red pepper flakes because I'm an addict. (Oh, left out the salt, too). As I'm watching everything cook down, I became nervous with how thick it looked. Very stew-like. If it doesn't get eaten in once sitting, you will most likely have to add some water to it the next day. No biggie. As I sit here enjoying my second bowl (don't judge), I am quite pleased with how it turned out. And I'm even more excited that my Rolled Oats can be used for something other than meatloaf. Thanks so much, Alejandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Surprisingly good. As I was making this I thought it was going to be a tasteless disaster. The minimal amount of ingredients was a concern as was the cooking procedure itself. I mean, come on, two steps? But what came forth from the pot was flavorful and surprisingly filling. (My portion of the entree that evening was much smaller than usual.) I might consider some modifications, such as more garlic and perhaps slightly more cilantro, but that's just personal taste. It's getting five stars because my wife loved it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger D.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I blended in some bell peppers and added a a bit of chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONJAROX
Home Town: Erd, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I had to give this recipe a try just because it sounded unique... I liked it better as it cool and thickened up... the toasted oats added a unique flavor... very very healthy especially if you cut back on the oil and use PAM... but then you are also losing flavor... either way still less sodium and processed garbage than canned tomato soup... I sprinkled with a little black pepper... good recipe thanks for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Tried it and loved it.. My husband felt that it tasted a bit like onion chutney :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Are the oats the rolled kind or the Scottish Oats kind? My veggie garden is going great and will have lots of cilantro and tomatoes to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States