Oat-N-Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is definitely a 5-star recipe. I was reviewing reviewer comments on an overnight French Toast recipe - when I noticed a reviewer used this recipe for the bread she used in that recipe. I was intrigued enough to read THOSE reviews and to end up making this bread myself. It's a bread machine recipe but as long as you have a stand mixer with bread dough hook, you can make bread. I don't bother proofing the yeast - just put all the dry ingredients in the bowl, add the wet ingredients (I had added the oats to the milk and let it sit for a few minutes) and let the hook do the work. I always take the dough out and finish kneading by hand because it allows me to get the feel of the dough. I did the lemon juice/milk to get buttermilk. I doubled the recipe - the resulting loaves are so large that next time I'll just add about 1 c. more of each of the flours and the milk & increase the yeast to 1 tbsp, to get 3 more manageable loaves. Great crust, great crumb, great taste. I'll be using this recipe a lot. P.S...I have to say that the loaf in the picture looks like it was taken out of the oven too soon and cut while hot. It looks doughy in the middle - it's not representative of my loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy Jay
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I was sad to se this was a bread machine recipe but I followed another persons directions for making it by hand, I also used olive oil and 3 tabelspoons of honey, looks and smells amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this bread by hand warming the buttermilk with the water, then adding the yeast, 1/4 cup of honey and 3T olive oil. I kneaded the dough and placed in an bowl oiled with olive oil and covered it with a damp towel. I let it rise for just an hour, punched it down, covered it and let it double again in the loaf pan. The dough rose real high and I was pleased with the way it was turning out. I sprinkled some oats over the top of the bread right before baking it for added texture and appeal. I baked the bread @350 degrees for 35 minutes. The bread smelled sooo wonderful as it baked up. I am very happy with the way the bread turned out! The crust has a little crunch with the oats baked right on top adding a nice texture. It is very moist and soft. The loaf is very tasty and I can taste the hint of honey in each bite-very nice! I love the oats, honey and whole wheat flour in this recipe. The buttermilk is a must because it definitely adds moisture to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Although I substituted/changed some things, (almond milk instead of buttermilk; 1/4 cup honey, whole wheat bread flour with all-purpose flour, old fashioned oats, 2 Tbsp butter), this bread was excellent. It rose so high that it touched the top of the bread machine. It is light and fluffy, yet slices well for a sandwich. The kids love it. It tastes as good as it smells. Can't wait to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Not amazing, but still very good. A solid 3 1/2 stars. will keep looking for another whole wheat oatmeal loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is a delicious homemade bread recipe! I followed it exactly as written, and the flavor and texture are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This bread has a really good flavor. Was a little dissapointed with the texture. But maybe a little tweaking will help. I am eating this warm. Perhaps when it is cooled completely, the texture will improve. Used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups white, everything I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I loved this bread. I used a 1/4 cup of honey per the other reviews. It came out tasty and moist. It was a little too crumbly for sandwiches (bringing them to work) but I loved eating it with apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Awesome! I made this today n i didnt realize i didnt have enough whole wheat flour.. in fact I barely had enough all purpose flour so I made up the difference with oats.. just superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was so delicious. I added a bit more honey along with 2 Tbs. molasses to sweeten it up a bit. I also divided the dough into 15 rolls and baked them in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. This has replaced my standard bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States