Oat-N-Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by manda
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I was sad to se this was a bread machine recipe but I followed another persons directions for making it by hand, I also used olive oil and 3 tabelspoons of honey, looks and smells amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this bread by hand warming the buttermilk with the water, then adding the yeast, 1/4 cup of honey and 3T olive oil. I kneaded the dough and placed in an bowl oiled with olive oil and covered it with a damp towel. I let it rise for just an hour, punched it down, covered it and let it double again in the loaf pan. The dough rose real high and I was pleased with the way it was turning out. I sprinkled some oats over the top of the bread right before baking it for added texture and appeal. I baked the bread @350 degrees for 35 minutes. The bread smelled sooo wonderful as it baked up. I am very happy with the way the bread turned out! The crust has a little crunch with the oats baked right on top adding a nice texture. It is very moist and soft. The loaf is very tasty and I can taste the hint of honey in each bite-very nice! I love the oats, honey and whole wheat flour in this recipe. The buttermilk is a must because it definitely adds moisture to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Although I substituted/changed some things, (almond milk instead of buttermilk; 1/4 cup honey, whole wheat bread flour with all-purpose flour, old fashioned oats, 2 Tbsp butter), this bread was excellent. It rose so high that it touched the top of the bread machine. It is light and fluffy, yet slices well for a sandwich. The kids love it. It tastes as good as it smells. Can't wait to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Not amazing, but still very good. A solid 3 1/2 stars. will keep looking for another whole wheat oatmeal loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is a delicious homemade bread recipe! I followed it exactly as written, and the flavor and texture are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This bread has a really good flavor. Was a little dissapointed with the texture. But maybe a little tweaking will help. I am eating this warm. Perhaps when it is cooled completely, the texture will improve. Used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups white, everything I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I loved this bread. I used a 1/4 cup of honey per the other reviews. It came out tasty and moist. It was a little too crumbly for sandwiches (bringing them to work) but I loved eating it with apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Awesome! I made this today n i didnt realize i didnt have enough whole wheat flour.. in fact I barely had enough all purpose flour so I made up the difference with oats.. just superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was so delicious. I added a bit more honey along with 2 Tbs. molasses to sweeten it up a bit. I also divided the dough into 15 rolls and baked them in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. This has replaced my standard bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Excellent! I use this recipe all the time and I use the 2 1/2 lb loaf setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States