Oat Crusted Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Great change of pace. I used walleye brought back from Canada and it turned out fabulous. The flour before the egg/milk really helped coat the fish and stick the oats. Nice heavy coating gave the fish a wonderful texture, almost nutty. Everyone loved it even the picky 3yr old. When I make this again I will probably add some seasoning to the mix as that was the only thing lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This deserves 10 stars. It so moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. I love the oatmeal. Why didn't I ever think of this. By far the best fish I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I really liked this recipe. It was crispy and tasted great. I added some Emeril seasoning to the flour for flavor, but followed the rest as posted. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very easy to make and my family loved it and they are very picky when it comes to fish. The flavor and textures to this dish are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
It's nice! It is crunchy like breadcrumb... I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Made this tonight for my family, mostly because I didn't have the ingredients to make another recipe. I'm glad now. This was a very easy to make, delicious fish. The oats added a nice crunch. (Will it also counter the cholestrol in the vegetable oil?) I added about 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning to the flour for extra flavoring. Next time, I'll add more seasoning to the flour. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was delicious! Thanks very much! Add whatever seasoning you like, to make it a bit more flavorful. I also fried for longer so it got deep brown and very crunchy. I made it with a different fish. Try this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This was so delicious. Crunchy coating and moist tender fish. I added Old Bay to the flour for some more spice. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My husband and I sat in stunned silence as our normaly fussy 4yr old gobbled this fish up. His only request to us was "try your dinner it's good" and he was right. We did add season salt to the flour as suggested by other members
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I have NEVER had breading turn out so well. Added season salt to the flour like others suggested. Family loved it. Used the left over flour, egg wash and oats with 1/2 tsp of backing powder to make hush puppies and they were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States