Oat Crusted Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
It looked beautiful and was easy to make, but it was a little bland. I'd add salt and pepper directly to the flour or egg/milk mixture in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carnegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very easy to make and my family loved it and they are very picky when it comes to fish. The flavor and textures to this dish are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Joaquin, California, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Our family really enjoyed this. It was mild enough for the kids, nice texture for the adults. We whipped up some homemade tartar sauce and it made a super meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I really liked this recipe. It was crispy and tasted great. I added some Emeril seasoning to the flour for flavor, but followed the rest as posted. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This deserves 10 stars. It so moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. I love the oatmeal. Why didn't I ever think of this. By far the best fish I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was a great change from breaded fish. Will try this with other fish. I didn't have enough of vegtable oil so I used 1/2 peanut oil and 1/2 canola and it gave the fish a nutty flavor. Will add this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
It took a lot longer than the prescribed time. It would have helped if we had thinner pieces of fish. It was relatively easy, but we found that the coating burned before the fish was cooked. It tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Made this tonight for my family, mostly because I didn't have the ingredients to make another recipe. I'm glad now. This was a very easy to make, delicious fish. The oats added a nice crunch. (Will it also counter the cholestrol in the vegetable oil?) I added about 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning to the flour for extra flavoring. Next time, I'll add more seasoning to the flour. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Great change of pace. I used walleye brought back from Canada and it turned out fabulous. The flour before the egg/milk really helped coat the fish and stick the oats. Nice heavy coating gave the fish a wonderful texture, almost nutty. Everyone loved it even the picky 3yr old. When I make this again I will probably add some seasoning to the mix as that was the only thing lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
It's nice! It is crunchy like breadcrumb... I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States