Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Perfect healthy muffins with so much room to change up according to my preference. I used 1/4c brown sugar and 2 T amber agave, whole wheat flour, 1 egg, 1 1/4 c applesauce, 2T flax, 2T canola oil, and 2T almond milk...cooked at 385 for exactly 15 minutes and they turned out very moist and not overly sweet...thanks for posting a recipe that is healthy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of these muffins. This was the first time I've baked with applesauce, I've always been skeptical, but not anymore. I followed advice of others and used whole wheat flour and cut back on the oil. I added blueberries and raspberries. Definitely a feel good muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Would make this whenever I need a muffin. Did a few changes 1 1/4 all brand cereal, + 1/4 c. flex seed 1 c. flour & 1/2 c whole wheat flour, 1/2 t. vanilla and a few nuts. They were a little thick so just added a little more applesauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I replaced the applesauce with 1 c whole blueberries & mixed them until the batter was purple. Added dark choc chips. It's the perfect bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were very good muffins. I made some modifications: I didn't have oat bran so I used oatmeal (which turned out well); I used whole wheat flour as others have mentioned they used; I used 3 tbsp. of coconut oil and instead of 1 cup of applesauce I used 1 1/2 apple/pear sauce. I also added cinnamon and vanilla. Finally I only used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup splenda. Also I though 400 degrees was too hot so I cooked the muffins for 15 minutes at 375 which was plenty of time. I could have cooked for 12 or 13 minutes and that would have probably been sufficient. These muffins are going to be my healthy snacking/breakfast muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girleypearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
These muffins are delicious. In addition to the recipe I added 1/2 t. of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added one chopped banana and a handful of walnuts. Another viewers suggestion of brushing honey over the tops while still warm, completed them. The family loves them. We will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These are great! Made them twice now, adding things both times. Used the ingredients as a base, but added in a bunch of stuff. I added applesauce, cinnamon, orange zest and the juice of an orange (just bc they were a little dry the first time). I also substituted 1 c. whole wheat flour for the flour portion, and egg whites instead of whole eggs. Tossed in some slivered almonds, chopped pecans and blueberries, just bc I had to get rid of them. I made 12 muffins and 9 "cookies" Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
With swalker3's tips--Yummy! I might add nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is a great base recipe then I like to add a few things. I use whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose, 1/4 cup ground flax seed, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and a cup of frozen or fresh berries (I've used blue berries, raspberries, and black berries) The berries really sweeten it up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnflwrgrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a 5 star recipe! I substituted whole wheat pastry flour in place of all-purpose flour. I used 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites to reduce cholesterol. I also added 1 TBS flaxseed meal, 1/3 c. craisins, 1/2 c. chopped walnuts, and about 1/8 c. lowfat buttermilk to thin the batter. Topped with a sprinkle of quaker oats mixed with a little brown sugar. I used Jen H's mixing instructions to give the muffin a higher loft (see Jen H review on 4/7/10). These muffins are AWESOME and heart healthy too. Due to my add-ins each muffin has 237 calories and 5 grams of fiber. If you want to cut calories leave out the walnuts. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States