Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Followed the directions to a T. Excellent. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were truly horrible. I can only get them down with a gulp of very sweet tea. I went by the stars, I now know that I should have read the comments; if it needs a bunch of modification, then I think it doesn't deserve 4 or 5 stars. Th I will try the modifications suggested; add some raisins, lessen the amount of soda and baking powder. I hate to hurt anyone's feelings, but honestly, as the recipe was written it was a waste of ingredients. Please forgive me, I'm actually quite nice, just disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Beckman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
First time making bran muffins. I followed the recipe and added 1/2 tsp vanilla and a little cinnamon. Once I put them in the muffin pan I added some chocolate chips to half. They were surprisingly delicious. Even my 2yr old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great recipe. My 4 year old loved them. I followed the recipe but changed up a few thing. Instead of applesauce I used sour cream and added 1 cup of oats in replace of 1/2 cup flour and bran. We also added dried cranberries, blueberries and raisins. Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These are great to make wheat free! Just use rice or spelt flour (or even coconut flour) in place of regular flour. I use less brown sugar and add about 2 TB honey. I also add ground flax seeds, cinnamon and top with wheat free granola! YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great recipe. I used coarse oat bran(Hodgson Mill bran) and on another occasion, I used a finer oat bran. The coarser oat bran worked better for my taste.My kids love taking them to school for a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar-n-Spice
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great recipe! For a "Carrot Cake" version, you can make this with the optional raisnins and cinnamon PLUS 1 c. shredded carrot and 1/2 c. chopped walnuts. Makes 10 large muffins. Bake ~17 min. Spread with cream cheese - yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were fantastic! Delicately sweet, moist and filling. I added shredded carrot, chopped dried apples and dried cranberries, froze a batch, and they make the perfect breakfast on the way to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
These are AWESOME! Great texture and I love that they aren't too sweet. They are now my breakfast of choice and I know they are helping reduce my cholesterol. If you are into the environment, don't preheat your oven until the muffins are resting in the tins. BTW, I have used as much as 3/4 cup whole wheat flour along with 3/4 AP flour for extra fiber, and the muffins are still tall and fluffy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yum! I tweaked to be a cholesterol lowering recipe--egg whites instead of whole eggs, omitted the oil & added 1/2 cup more applesauce, a few Tbsp of fat free greek yogurt and 1 over ripe banana for moistness. Also added walnuts & 2 Tbsp flax seed as both are good for cholesterol + raisins & put dark chocolate chips in some for my boys. Lastly, used whole wheat flour--a combination of other reviews & a few of my own tweaks. Great base recipe!! My whole family loves these truly healthy muffins---thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States