Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
very close to the recipe on the Hodgson Mill Oat Bran box - good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is how I did it. I didn't necessarily have 'oat bran' but I had oat and bran. And since it's all just going one place I didn't really seem to mind putting 3/4 a cup of oats and 3/4 a cup of raisin bran cereal. Also I pureed 2 kiwis and about 3/4 a cup of grapes and used that instead of apple sauce, with that measurment I guess you could lower the suger because of all the natural sugers from the fruit. They turned out super moist and delicously light with specks from the grape skins and kiwi seeds that give it an almost poppyseed mannor. Definately a good healthy balanced meal to feed yourself on those buisy mornings or to snack on before you work out, love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a great base muffin recipe - I've experimented with adding addition ingredients like apple cider mix (2pkgs/batch) or different combinations of spices. Cardamom and diced dates is a great combination, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Viking Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a delicious muffin and a great start to the day! I only gave it four stars because I made some modifications based on other reviewers' suggestions. I used whole wheat pastry flour rather than regular, 1 tsp. each of baking powder and baking soda, 1/2 cup Egg Beaters in place of the eggs, used only 3/4 cup of applesauce, and added a single serving (6 oz.) of vanilla soy yogurt. I sprinkled a little brown sugar and rolled oats on top - they look and taste great, I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour. I also added half a cup slivered almonds. This recipe is so good and healthy that I make these muffins almost every week. This is perfect for people who are watching their diet; it doesn't add thousands of calories and keeps the cravings away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Great base recipe! I added coconut, shredded carrots, raisins, ground flax seed and cinnamon to mine. (I like a lot of stuff in my bran muffins!). I found that I had them in the oven less than the recommended time (only about 15 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are really good. I made a few small changes, only used 1 tsp each baking powder and baking soda. I also added 2 tblsp ground flax seed and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. My kids really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I enjoyed these but found them just a little bland. I think this is a great base recipe to spruce up to suit your needs....will add raisins and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This recipe was great! I loved the texture. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top before baking. I liked that they're not super sweet- it's a muffin, not a cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These muffins were too dry. We had to microwave them and add butter or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States