Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I couldn't give this 5 stars because I did make some changes, but with those changes these were excellent! I switched out the flour for whole wheat flour. I reduced the baking power and baking soda to 1 tsp each, and reduced the oil to 1 tbsp. I added a cup or so of chopped fresh cranberries. The applesauce I used was homemade, with just apples and a little cider. It made an even dozen, so I'm not sure what kind of muffin pan the reviewer who said they had to 1.5x the recipe was using. But they came out great! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wow! These were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAY-AL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Yum. I added a 1/4c of milk because I thought it was too thick, but after the 10 mins of sitting it was fine. Added 1 c of blueberries. A nice change from a bran or carrot muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Everything went wrong with my process..Normally I check all ingredients before starting, this time I didn't and came up short on the AP flour (so I used a cup of AP and a little over 1/4 c. bread flour). Got out the applesauce (homemade thick and chunky) to find that I only had 3/4 c...so I filled the rest of the cup with some Greek yogurt. The batter was way too thick so I poured in the rest of a carton of half and half (no milk in the frig, either!). Added a cup of chopped walnuts, scooped into the muffin cups, sprinkled with a mix of turbinado sugar and pumpkin pie spice, let them sit for ten minutes, threw them in the oven and hoped for the best. They are superb! I will definitely make them again...hopefully following the recipe to a T. These will make a terrific breakfast on the run...thinking about adding some dried cranberries, too......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Perfect healthy snack for kids! My pickiest eater loved these. The variations I tried where 1 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 cups chocolate chips, 1/2 tsp vanilla, I also added 1 smashed banana and used olive oil for the veg. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
very close to the recipe on the Hodgson Mill Oat Bran box - good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is how I did it. I didn't necessarily have 'oat bran' but I had oat and bran. And since it's all just going one place I didn't really seem to mind putting 3/4 a cup of oats and 3/4 a cup of raisin bran cereal. Also I pureed 2 kiwis and about 3/4 a cup of grapes and used that instead of apple sauce, with that measurment I guess you could lower the suger because of all the natural sugers from the fruit. They turned out super moist and delicously light with specks from the grape skins and kiwi seeds that give it an almost poppyseed mannor. Definately a good healthy balanced meal to feed yourself on those buisy mornings or to snack on before you work out, love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a great base muffin recipe - I've experimented with adding addition ingredients like apple cider mix (2pkgs/batch) or different combinations of spices. Cardamom and diced dates is a great combination, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Viking Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a delicious muffin and a great start to the day! I only gave it four stars because I made some modifications based on other reviewers' suggestions. I used whole wheat pastry flour rather than regular, 1 tsp. each of baking powder and baking soda, 1/2 cup Egg Beaters in place of the eggs, used only 3/4 cup of applesauce, and added a single serving (6 oz.) of vanilla soy yogurt. I sprinkled a little brown sugar and rolled oats on top - they look and taste great, I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States