Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
These were really good. I threw my other recipe out. My husband has to watch his fat intake real close, so I halved the oil and used egg beaters. I also used cinnamon in the muffins as well as plumped up raisins and sprinkled sugar and cinnamon mixture on top. My other recipe called for all oat bran. I think some flour helps with the texture as well as taste. I use bread flour, it contains more gluten than regular flour, so it gives a better rise. I'll be making these all the time now. Thanks for the recipe Bron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
This is a great recipe. With the applesauce added, it's not necessary to use as much oil as indicated. I only used 1 tablespoon of oil, and they turned out great. Also, I couldn't find oat bran, so I used Kellogg's All-Bran cereal (which is wheat bran) instead, which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These muffins are delicious! I followed Caroline's advice and also added 2 tb of ground flax seed. These are wonderful with a dab of honey!! April
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe is wonderful and I normally hate bran muffins. I did make a few changes though to suit my tastes. I used oat flour instead of white flour; maple syrup instead of brown sugar; half the oil (olive); 3/4 cup applesauce; added 1/2C raisins and walnuts; and added 1TBSP of cinnamon. My sister loved them and has already had three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
This is a moist, flavourful muffin. To jazz it up a little, i added 1 cup of fresh strawberries and 2tbsp of sliced almonds...makes it very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is a great recipe. I added raisins and used Eggbeaters to reduce the cholestrol content. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I thought these were great. I added cinnamon and walnuts and a little extra applesauce. Most bran muffins are dry and flat. These were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXSHAFER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
These are pretty good. I used light brown sugar because I didn't have dark brown and I used cinnamon applesauce. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/8 tsp cloves. They smelled delicious and tasted good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Simple and healthy, not overloaded with refined ingredients and fat. I sprinkled a coat of cinnamon and fresh ground sea salt over the top of the muffins before baking for extra flavor. A keeper. Thanks Bron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
My new favorite muffin recipe. I did make a few changes while making them though. Instead of 1 1/2 cups of oat bran, I only added 1 cup (because I ran out oat bran) and I was very generous with the apple sauce. I also added 1 tblsp of cinnamon. They were very moist and sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States