Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
LOVED it. My changes: Since I didn't have applesauce on hand I grated a whole apple into it. I also substituted the all-purpose flour for whole wheat. And to top it off, I also took the advice to sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top. very tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were the bomb!!! Very moist and delicious. I added choc chips to mine and the kids and craisins to my husband's. Very Good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I added ground flax seed, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and a crumb topping (2 tbsp butter, 1/2 c oats, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/4 c flour, 1/4 c chopped walnuts) and these were delicious! I do think next time I will use more applesauce as other reviewers have suggested, as they were just a little bit dry. And I think these would be yummy with chopped dates... will be giving that a try! Great healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Moist and filling, but a bit bland by themselves. BUT that mens they are a great base for anything you might want to add. I have added diced pear, pecans, and chocolate chips to different batches. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Used cinnamon applesauce and vanilla yogurt and only one egg. Good muffins and nice source of fiber. Could use a little more flavor, maybe by adding more spices or some dried fruits and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
If you substitute any whole wheat flour in the mix you may have to add more liquid. You can use a little milk, cream or orange juice. They look really pretty if you top with a few rolled oats and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I added raisins, walnuts, cinnamon, and vanilla. The batter seemed too thick so I added 4 more ounces of applesauce. I didn't have oat bran on hand but I did have wheat bran so I used that. I baked mine about 20 minutes. Turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I've made these going by the original recipe and they were very good. I've also added 1c raisins, 1c mashed banana, 1/2 c chopped walnuts, 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon and vanilla and 1/2 cup grated carrot and substituted wheat flour. My husband loves these and now I make a couple of batches every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is a keeper! I added 1/3 cup milk, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 6 oz butterscotch chips. They were awesome. You could also add bananas instead of the applesauce and mini chocolate chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
We used apple butter instead of applesauce and it worked out well. This is a pretty versatile recipe and can be used with pumpkin or banannas too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States