Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I've made these going by the original recipe and they were very good. I've also added 1c raisins, 1c mashed banana, 1/2 c chopped walnuts, 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon and vanilla and 1/2 cup grated carrot and substituted wheat flour. My husband loves these and now I make a couple of batches every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is a keeper! I added 1/3 cup milk, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 6 oz butterscotch chips. They were awesome. You could also add bananas instead of the applesauce and mini chocolate chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
We used apple butter instead of applesauce and it worked out well. This is a pretty versatile recipe and can be used with pumpkin or banannas too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Love these, but I must admit I add other things, like applesauce, dried cranberries and toasted sliced almonds. It's a great recipe for a basic bran muffin that lets you add a little creativity without any harm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very good. I replace part of the applesauce with butter, not as healthy but we like the flavor. Also dried cranberries make this really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My kids love these! I add craisons and cho chips to keep them interested. I also have made them into bars if I am short on time. It fit nicely in a 8X8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
FANTASTIC! Healthful, easy, and delicious! I got about 36 mini muffins out of this batter. I also added cinnamon, vanilla and dried cranberries. I'm going to try it with chopped dried apricots, too. Great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I was a bit concerned when the "batter" had the same consistency as drop-cookie dough--I thought the muffins would be too dry. But they were fabulous! During the ten-minute resting time I made some streusel out of brown sugar, cinnamon, rolled oats, and a little butter. Sprinkle some on top and you've got a slightly sweeter muffin with a great crunchy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
VERY tasty! The only changes I made: added a mashed banana and a little cinnamon and nutmeg. I also put a dallop of cream cheese on top of the muffins before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Good way to get oat bran in your diet. I make these regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States