Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Yum. I added a 1/4c of milk because I thought it was too thick, but after the 10 mins of sitting it was fine. Added 1 c of blueberries. A nice change from a bran or carrot muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Everything went wrong with my process..Normally I check all ingredients before starting, this time I didn't and came up short on the AP flour (so I used a cup of AP and a little over 1/4 c. bread flour). Got out the applesauce (homemade thick and chunky) to find that I only had 3/4 c...so I filled the rest of the cup with some Greek yogurt. The batter was way too thick so I poured in the rest of a carton of half and half (no milk in the frig, either!). Added a cup of chopped walnuts, scooped into the muffin cups, sprinkled with a mix of turbinado sugar and pumpkin pie spice, let them sit for ten minutes, threw them in the oven and hoped for the best. They are superb! I will definitely make them again...hopefully following the recipe to a T. These will make a terrific breakfast on the run...thinking about adding some dried cranberries, too......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Perfect healthy snack for kids! My pickiest eater loved these. The variations I tried where 1 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 cups chocolate chips, 1/2 tsp vanilla, I also added 1 smashed banana and used olive oil for the veg. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
very close to the recipe on the Hodgson Mill Oat Bran box - good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is how I did it. I didn't necessarily have 'oat bran' but I had oat and bran. And since it's all just going one place I didn't really seem to mind putting 3/4 a cup of oats and 3/4 a cup of raisin bran cereal. Also I pureed 2 kiwis and about 3/4 a cup of grapes and used that instead of apple sauce, with that measurment I guess you could lower the suger because of all the natural sugers from the fruit. They turned out super moist and delicously light with specks from the grape skins and kiwi seeds that give it an almost poppyseed mannor. Definately a good healthy balanced meal to feed yourself on those buisy mornings or to snack on before you work out, love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a great base muffin recipe - I've experimented with adding addition ingredients like apple cider mix (2pkgs/batch) or different combinations of spices. Cardamom and diced dates is a great combination, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Viking Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a delicious muffin and a great start to the day! I only gave it four stars because I made some modifications based on other reviewers' suggestions. I used whole wheat pastry flour rather than regular, 1 tsp. each of baking powder and baking soda, 1/2 cup Egg Beaters in place of the eggs, used only 3/4 cup of applesauce, and added a single serving (6 oz.) of vanilla soy yogurt. I sprinkled a little brown sugar and rolled oats on top - they look and taste great, I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour. I also added half a cup slivered almonds. This recipe is so good and healthy that I make these muffins almost every week. This is perfect for people who are watching their diet; it doesn't add thousands of calories and keeps the cravings away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Great base recipe! I added coconut, shredded carrots, raisins, ground flax seed and cinnamon to mine. (I like a lot of stuff in my bran muffins!). I found that I had them in the oven less than the recommended time (only about 15 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States