Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I've made this recipe with blueberries and also with cranberry/orange. I make a double batch, as we like bigger muffins. I add at least 3 cups of fruit in a double batch. I also add a container of plain, non-fat Greek yogurt, keep the baking powder and baking soda as in the recipe and my muffins are nice and moist. I also use a brown sugar/sucralose blend, egg substitute, and cannola oil to make them more healthy, and sprinkle a bit of turbinado sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Mildly sweet, tasty applesauce bran muffins. Used my own homemade Arkansas Black applesauce and thoroughly enjoyed the resulting muffins. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Excellent! Best with the addition of soaked raisins, because I made the first batch of these muffins without raisins. They were delicious but a little dry (although, not a problem with lots of butter!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this with a few variations...used 1/2 cup of honey instead of the brown sugar, substituted high pulp orange juice for applesauce, and added 1/2 c walnuts and 4 oz chopped dates. They are to die for....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
It was great. My husband raved about them. I needed to keep them Gluten Free so I substituted Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix for the all- purpose flour and added 3/4 tsp. of xanthan gum. I will definitely be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by recipes
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I wanted some veggie in there too. I modified somethings as per other reviews. They turned out awesome and tasty! I threw in a couple of chocolate chips too. Oat Bran Muffins 1 ½ cup oat bran 1 cup chilled applesauce 1/2cup carrot puree 1 finely diced apple ¼ cup brown sugar 2 tbsp vegetable oil 1 tbsp vanilla 2 eggs 1cup whole wheat flour ½ cup unbleached white flour 1 tsp baking powder 1 tsp baking soda ¼ tsp salt 1 ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice 1. Combine Apple sauce, carrot puree, oat bran, apples>sit. 2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. 3. Whisk brown sugar, oil, eggs, vanilla in a small bowl. 4. Add the brown sugar mix to the oat bran/apple/carrot mix> combine wet mix + dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I added about a Tablespoon of sour cream and some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves and these were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Those Muffins turned out amazing. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon as suggested. They came out very moist. I might cut down the oil a little though. Thanks for that amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great recipe! I follow exactly as written but add 1 tsp of vanilla extract just to add a little sweeter flavor. They freeze really great too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I also made some changes - only use 1 tsp of baking powder and baking soda - really helps with the moist factor. I added a little extra surgar as well. I had a little pumpkin puree left over from a soup I made, so instead of apple sauce, I used about 3/4 cups of that and then added a few tablespoons of greek yogurt. The dough seemed a little too stiff, so I added about 4 tbs. of water. And while I was adding pumpkin, why not a tsp of cinnamon? oh - and I too used whole wheat flour. I served them at a brunch with butter - they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States