Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum! I subbed a cup of mashed bananas for the applesauce, threw in a little more oil, and used 3 tsp of baking soda as I didn't have any powder. With cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top right before baking they're just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharlieC
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good starter receipt. I added coconut, a little sugar, vanilla extract, raisins and accidently lemon extract. They came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I've made this recipe with blueberries and also with cranberry/orange. I make a double batch, as we like bigger muffins. I add at least 3 cups of fruit in a double batch. I also add a container of plain, non-fat Greek yogurt, keep the baking powder and baking soda as in the recipe and my muffins are nice and moist. I also use a brown sugar/sucralose blend, egg substitute, and cannola oil to make them more healthy, and sprinkle a bit of turbinado sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Mildly sweet, tasty applesauce bran muffins. Used my own homemade Arkansas Black applesauce and thoroughly enjoyed the resulting muffins. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Excellent! Best with the addition of soaked raisins, because I made the first batch of these muffins without raisins. They were delicious but a little dry (although, not a problem with lots of butter!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this with a few variations...used 1/2 cup of honey instead of the brown sugar, substituted high pulp orange juice for applesauce, and added 1/2 c walnuts and 4 oz chopped dates. They are to die for....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
It was great. My husband raved about them. I needed to keep them Gluten Free so I substituted Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix for the all- purpose flour and added 3/4 tsp. of xanthan gum. I will definitely be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by recipes
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I wanted some veggie in there too. I modified somethings as per other reviews. They turned out awesome and tasty! I threw in a couple of chocolate chips too. Oat Bran Muffins 1 ½ cup oat bran 1 cup chilled applesauce 1/2cup carrot puree 1 finely diced apple ¼ cup brown sugar 2 tbsp vegetable oil 1 tbsp vanilla 2 eggs 1cup whole wheat flour ½ cup unbleached white flour 1 tsp baking powder 1 tsp baking soda ¼ tsp salt 1 ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice 1. Combine Apple sauce, carrot puree, oat bran, apples>sit. 2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. 3. Whisk brown sugar, oil, eggs, vanilla in a small bowl. 4. Add the brown sugar mix to the oat bran/apple/carrot mix> combine wet mix + dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I added about a Tablespoon of sour cream and some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves and these were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Those Muffins turned out amazing. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon as suggested. They came out very moist. I might cut down the oil a little though. Thanks for that amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States