Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Like other review suggested, I let applesauce and oat bran sit a bit to soften oats. I increased applesauce to 1 1/2C approx and used mostly whole wheat flour. Added 1 tsp vanilla and enough OJ to make the batter the right consistency- would have been too dry otherwise. Think would be tasty with raisins added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Even though I cut the baking powder and soda in half they rose extremely well, so I'm not sure why so much was called for. Added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon, and the flavor was good-just sweet enough (for me...not sweet enough for my parents) with a fruity taste from the applesauce. I used extra large eggs, but they were still quite dry. One tester said I make so many delicious muffins that these are not worth making, so I probably won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetHomeMom
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Excellent but I did change a few things. Substituted one cup milk for one cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt, half cup of wheat flour for half cup oat bran. Increased brown sugar to 3/4 cup. And substituted blueberries for 1/2-3/4 cup chocolate chips to be sure my kids would eat. I'm simply looking to increase fiber and protein in our diets. I think I'll try substituting brown sugar for molasses at some point and mix back in fresh berries. Great fluffy consistency, not dry like store-bought bran muffins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
These were great! I made the following changes, after reading a few other reviews: Halved sugar, added 1/2 cup plain yogurt, 2 tsp cinnamon, half a cup of chopped dates, about a cup of chopped walnuts. This made 19 smallish muffins (vintage-size muffin tins).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These are quite good. After reading some reviews, I made some modifications. I used wheat bran, not oat bran, since I didn't have any. I used white whole wheat flour, reduced the baking powder and soda to 1.5 tsp each, used 1.5 c applesauce. I also added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp nutmeg. I let the bran soak with the applesauce for quite a while, and added the baking soda and powder and dry ingredients at the end and mixed til combined. I greased the muffin tin with coconut oil. Next time I think I'll add chopped apples or plumped raisins, add some molasses, or use pumpkin instead of applesauce since some juiciness would make them more scrumptious. I also sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar. Next time I might sprinkle the top with oats, butter, sugar, and cinnamon. The kids gobbled them up and demanded one in the lunchbox tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Thank you for the great recipe! I had a ton of oat bran laying around, and needed something to do with it! My alterations were kind of based on what I had around, so I'm sorry for all of the changes! They worked alright for me, though, so I thought I'd share: Put eggs, oil (I used corn oil), and 1 tablespoon vanilla extract into blender. Cut up three medium sized apples (I did NOT peel them) and added to blender ingredients. Blended until apple skins were confetti-sized. Added to mixing bowl with dry ingredients (I reduced the baking soda to 1 teaspoon, and omitted salt). Added 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, and 1/4 teaspoon ginger. I don't have a muffin pan, so I poured it into a regular bread pan (greased) and baked at 325 for an hour. Not bad! Turned out as a muffin-y, fiber-full bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These are so yummy. They work well with King Arthur gluten free all purpose flour too, with no modifications. I tried the raisin addition last time, and am doing blueberries this time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum! I subbed a cup of mashed bananas for the applesauce, threw in a little more oil, and used 3 tsp of baking soda as I didn't have any powder. With cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top right before baking they're just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharlieC
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good starter receipt. I added coconut, a little sugar, vanilla extract, raisins and accidently lemon extract. They came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States