Oat Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I have made this Bread without Salt and used Bread Improver instead as I am on a No Added Salt Diet. The Bread is lovely but the first loaf had a big hole in it and subsequent loaves (with less Yeast have only had smaller holes but sometimes sink. Any Suggestions anybody ?? Max
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Great recipe. First time using this recipe. Looked at other reviews and used larger decorative bread pan. This one goes in my recipe box. Will make weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great recipe. I modified it a bit and exchanged 1/4C of the bread flour with whole wheat flour. I also baked mine in the bread machine on the basic cycle and it came out great. Nice lite, airy loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I have made this bread at least 100x! It is always a success. I usually make it in a loaf pan and cut off enough of the dough to make 4 buns, as the dough rises quite high in the loaf pan. This makes a large, high loaf of bread in the normal sized loaf pan. I make the buns big enough for a hamburger. I'm not sure why the one critic says the loaf is not big - perhaps didn't let it rise long enough! It sometimes is sticky coming out of the bread maker, so I roll it around on the board in some flour. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a nice, soft white bread. I wouldn't call it a "health bread" since most of it is white flour.I used the dough setting in the bread machine. I poured the dough into a baking pan and had to wet my hands to pat it down to conform to the pan since it was very soft and sticky. I let it rise in a warm oven. It oozed over the side of the pan. If you like soft white bread and want a little fiber this would be a good choice. I prefer a heartier bread with a crunchy crust though I'm sure my husband will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This bread is AWESOME! I only had 1 cup of bread flour so used that plus 1 1/4 c. ww flour. Also added 1/4 c. flaxseed mill and 1/4 c. sunflower seeds. Put all ingred. in breadmachine on dough cycle, then took out and let rise in bread pan until doubled and baked. This bread was very soft in the middle with a crusty top....delicious, definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This bread came out light and airy. It's a good tasting soft bread that makes an excellent alternative to plain white bread. I did the whole thing in the bread machine, and it rose wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Delicious and easy. Be aware that it makes a very small loaf, but rises a lot during the process. I don't have access to my bread machine, so I made these by hand. To do so, do the following: 1. Mix yeast and water and let stand for 5 minutes. 2. Add melted margarine and honey (ie. the liquids) to the mixture and then your dry ingredients, saving the salt for the last ingredient. 3. Form a soft dough, and cover bowl with a wet cloth and let rise in a warm place (or the oven set on 200 degrees and then turned off) for about an hour. 4. Take the dough and knead it. Put dough in bread tin and again cover with a wet cloth and let rise for about 1/2 hour in a warm place. 5. Cook at directed. I altered the recipe slightly, adding 1 tbsp of sugar and using a combination of 1.5 cups wheat flour and the remaining cup white flour. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Delicious, easy bread. I made it in my machine and I substituted the water with milk. Everybody loved it. This will now be my favourite bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I had a little trouble with the bread falling in the bread machine...so here's how I solved the problem. I added 4 tsp. of vital gluten. Then, to perk up the flavor, I increased the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. and the yeast to 2 1/4 tsp. This is a fabulous bread with lovely color, aroma, and texture. My kids love it, and I love serving it to them knowing they are getting whole grains from the oat bran and only natural sweetening from the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States