Oat Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a nice, soft white bread. I wouldn't call it a "health bread" since most of it is white flour.I used the dough setting in the bread machine. I poured the dough into a baking pan and had to wet my hands to pat it down to conform to the pan since it was very soft and sticky. I let it rise in a warm oven. It oozed over the side of the pan. If you like soft white bread and want a little fiber this would be a good choice. I prefer a heartier bread with a crunchy crust though I'm sure my husband will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This bread is AWESOME! I only had 1 cup of bread flour so used that plus 1 1/4 c. ww flour. Also added 1/4 c. flaxseed mill and 1/4 c. sunflower seeds. Put all ingred. in breadmachine on dough cycle, then took out and let rise in bread pan until doubled and baked. This bread was very soft in the middle with a crusty top....delicious, definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This bread came out light and airy. It's a good tasting soft bread that makes an excellent alternative to plain white bread. I did the whole thing in the bread machine, and it rose wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Delicious and easy. Be aware that it makes a very small loaf, but rises a lot during the process. I don't have access to my bread machine, so I made these by hand. To do so, do the following: 1. Mix yeast and water and let stand for 5 minutes. 2. Add melted margarine and honey (ie. the liquids) to the mixture and then your dry ingredients, saving the salt for the last ingredient. 3. Form a soft dough, and cover bowl with a wet cloth and let rise in a warm place (or the oven set on 200 degrees and then turned off) for about an hour. 4. Take the dough and knead it. Put dough in bread tin and again cover with a wet cloth and let rise for about 1/2 hour in a warm place. 5. Cook at directed. I altered the recipe slightly, adding 1 tbsp of sugar and using a combination of 1.5 cups wheat flour and the remaining cup white flour. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Delicious, easy bread. I made it in my machine and I substituted the water with milk. Everybody loved it. This will now be my favourite bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I had a little trouble with the bread falling in the bread machine...so here's how I solved the problem. I added 4 tsp. of vital gluten. Then, to perk up the flavor, I increased the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. and the yeast to 2 1/4 tsp. This is a fabulous bread with lovely color, aroma, and texture. My kids love it, and I love serving it to them knowing they are getting whole grains from the oat bran and only natural sweetening from the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Wow! Wow!...and WOW!!! What a moist, airy bread! I did add some additional crunch, which I prefer in my breads. I tossed in about 3 tablespoons of millet, 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds and 1/4 cup milled flax seeds. With the added ingredients I increased the water by another ounce (1/8 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Very good loaf of bread. I sub'd a 1/4 c of bread flour with wheat flour and added a little wheat germ. I can never tell how much honey sticks to the spoon when measuring so I dipped the tablespoon three times hoping that it wasn't too much over 2 T as the recipe calls for. The dough did everything it needed to do and yielded a soft, tasty loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I have made this bread now more than half a dozen times and each time I make it it comes out great! I have made it in 4 mini loaves and bake it for about 32 minutes. Love it and so does everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is one of the best breads i have Ever made yet, altho i am still learning about bakeing breads. This all came together beautifuly i put it in the machine dough cycle then into a 9x5 pan and let rise for 45+mins and baked 350 till done. It all rose so perfectly and looked amazing, i dont recomend cooking in the breadmachine because it rises so high. Taste GREAT, and one of the more healthy breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States