Oat Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Best bread machine bread recipe I've found by a long shot, also keeps well. I used bread maker yeast and 1.5T sugar instead of the honey, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Great recipe. My husband requests it all the time. It is delicious just sliced or toasted. Try it, you'll like it. I always go with the oven method for this and all bread maker bread recipes...I use the bread maker as a " proofer". Thank you Leanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Used my bread machine for the dough and oven for baking. I've been baking bread for 30+ years, and this is going to be one of my favorites. Exceptionally light and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, and it works, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Out of all the breads I've made, I think this is my favorite. I think this is definitely a bread that I'll make often. The main reason I made it is because I wanted to get rid of the oat bran that I had. I looked for a recipe and found this one. After tasting it, now I'm going to have to buy more oat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
After trying more than a dozen recipe and regretting why i bought this machine, i finally liked home made bread. even though i followed the recipe top to bottom, dough looked watery,so added more than 1/4th cup of wwflour,did the rise setting first followed by basic setting and baked on light colored crust. I used bread machine yeast. ThankYou......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Super. This was the best texture of bread I've made in the bread machine. I find that sometimes they come out a bit wet in the middle but this was perfect and rose nice and high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Day 3 after making and this loaf and (what is left of it) is still fresh and moist. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I wanted to give this recipe 5 stars because the taste was outstanding, but I'm only giving it 4 because I don't think the recipe calls for enough flour. The first time I made this, the dough was so sticky I had to add at least an extra 1/2 cup of flour just to be able to shape it into a loaf. The 2nd time I made this, I increased the flour to 3 cups and increased the yeast to 2 1/4 teaspoons (equal to one package). After increasing the flour/yeast, this bread was PERFECT!!! It rose really high - it's very light and fluffy! You cannot tell there's oat bran in this, love it! Also, I love that this recipe calls for honey instead of sugar... I will be making this recipe again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jex
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This bread is incredible! My entire family loved it, including my very picky 3-year-old. The texture is awesome. I added 1.5 TBS vital wheat gluten to the original recipe to preserve the life of the bread, only because we do not get through a loaf of bread very fast. In addition, I don't own a bread machine so I mixed and kneaded mine in my KA stand mixer with no problems. I proofed the yeast in the water and honey for 10 minutes, then added remaining ingredients and kneaded for about 6 minutes. I let it rise in a lightly oiled bowl covered with a damp cloth until doubled. I punched it down, shaped into a loaf, and let it rise in the loaf pan again until doubled as stated in the directions. Absolutely perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States