Oat Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Best bread machine bread recipe I've found by a long shot, also keeps well. I used bread maker yeast and 1.5T sugar instead of the honey, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Great recipe. My husband requests it all the time. It is delicious just sliced or toasted. Try it, you'll like it. I always go with the oven method for this and all bread maker bread recipes...I use the bread maker as a " proofer". Thank you Leanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Used my bread machine for the dough and oven for baking. I've been baking bread for 30+ years, and this is going to be one of my favorites. Exceptionally light and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, and it works, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Out of all the breads I've made, I think this is my favorite. I think this is definitely a bread that I'll make often. The main reason I made it is because I wanted to get rid of the oat bran that I had. I looked for a recipe and found this one. After tasting it, now I'm going to have to buy more oat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
After trying more than a dozen recipe and regretting why i bought this machine, i finally liked home made bread. even though i followed the recipe top to bottom, dough looked watery,so added more than 1/4th cup of wwflour,did the rise setting first followed by basic setting and baked on light colored crust. I used bread machine yeast. ThankYou......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Super. This was the best texture of bread I've made in the bread machine. I find that sometimes they come out a bit wet in the middle but this was perfect and rose nice and high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Day 3 after making and this loaf and (what is left of it) is still fresh and moist. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I wanted to give this recipe 5 stars because the taste was outstanding, but I'm only giving it 4 because I don't think the recipe calls for enough flour. The first time I made this, the dough was so sticky I had to add at least an extra 1/2 cup of flour just to be able to shape it into a loaf. The 2nd time I made this, I increased the flour to 3 cups and increased the yeast to 2 1/4 teaspoons (equal to one package). After increasing the flour/yeast, this bread was PERFECT!!! It rose really high - it's very light and fluffy! You cannot tell there's oat bran in this, love it! Also, I love that this recipe calls for honey instead of sugar... I will be making this recipe again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jex
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This bread is incredible! My entire family loved it, including my very picky 3-year-old. The texture is awesome. I added 1.5 TBS vital wheat gluten to the original recipe to preserve the life of the bread, only because we do not get through a loaf of bread very fast. In addition, I don't own a bread machine so I mixed and kneaded mine in my KA stand mixer with no problems. I proofed the yeast in the water and honey for 10 minutes, then added remaining ingredients and kneaded for about 6 minutes. I let it rise in a lightly oiled bowl covered with a damp cloth until doubled. I punched it down, shaped into a loaf, and let it rise in the loaf pan again until doubled as stated in the directions. Absolutely perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States