OREO Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Tried these for my son's preschool Thanksgiving party. They were a HIT! A few helpful steps... I popped the tails into the refrigerator for around 5 minutes to help the chocolate set before trying to stand them up. I used double stuff Oreos, and the thickness of the filling helped hold the feathers up. I also used melted chocolate between the tail portion and the malted milk ball to help support the heavy tails. So easy and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I had trouble with these...mine definitely don't look like the photo but I gave it my best shot. Would be nice if some of the tricks of the trade were shared. My oreos stuck together even after refrigeration for 15 min as instructed at bottom of recipe. Spreading the filling "dirtied" the cream. My semisweet chips cooled as I was working with them and reheating in microwave did not work for me. I melted a chocolate bar 90% cocoa and this stayed nice and silky. I tried brushing chocolate on Oreo but my brush hardened, so I used a baby feeding spoon. I put a few in freezer as I worked on others, then assembled. Great idea, time consuming...would appreciate some hints...probably my ineptness :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My class of 8-9 year olds made this as a craft idea at school camp fun and easy used available substituted sweets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
What a cute idea. No baking and the kids loved putting them together. Totally edible also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My grandkids had a great time making these while dinner was being prepared. They were easy and so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by TashaK
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I just made these little guys and all I can say is SO SO Cute!! They are lots of fun to put together and the variations are endless (we tried red hots, M&Ms, and hot tamales for the heads and added orange tic tacs for the feet). SO FESTIVE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Monica Williams
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These were really fun to make. Easy too. I'll make these again on Thanksgiving to occupy the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by nacy
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Easy! Very cute. I pressed the heavy back down into the melted chocolate and into the cookie filling -- they stayed together with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Fun to make, and delicious to take apart and eat. May make again for Thanksgiving day for each place setting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
awesome i tried it with my kids and it is awesome they loved it i snook five my self :0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Martini

See how to make jelly bean flavored vodka as the base for this deliciously sweet

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States