OREO Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made these with white chocolate instead of semi-sweet for dipping. They were delicious - everyone asked for the recipe. This recipe wil be used ver and over again in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDDYCAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These are really really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The cookie-cream cheese mixture is yummy but the dipping into chocolate part is difficult. I made a few dipped in chocolate and then the chocolate got too hot and thick and wouldn't melt correctly. The few that I was able to dip were Way too chocolaty I couldnt even taste the oreos. I decided to roll the rest in powdered sugar and that was so much easier and tasted much better!!!!Also the recipe only made about 28 one inch balls, so you may want to double it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I thoroughly crushed the package of regular Oreos by placing them in a large ziplock bag and using the heel of my hand. I then hand-stirred the cream cheese and Oreos until evenly mixed. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the globs of Oreo and placed them on a wax paper-covered baking sheet. After placing them in the fridge for 30 min (or freezer for less), I hand rolled them into a nice round ball. Also, using a double boiler is fantastic for melting chocolate. I added a small handful of chocolate chips at a time and stirred occasionally until it was all melted over low heat. I let the chocolate cool some, and then put a couple of Oreo balls in at a time and rolled them around in the chocolate bowl with my fingers for even coverage. Chilled them again in fridge for a few hours and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Love this recipe!!! I found that placing the balls in the freezer for about 20 minutes makes it much easier to dip this in the chocolate. This was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I make these every year and I need to keep making a large batch every year. This recipe is time consuming but simple. Notes I'd like to add: 1. Crush oreos, then put into a food processor. Add the cream cheese but make sure it's softed to a spreadable state. The quickest way to do this is by throwing it in a microwave in a bowl. Mix until the mixture is nice and black. 2. Chill this mix in the fridge or the freezer. If planning on working on these in the same day, the freezer works. 3. Ball up the mix. This stuff will be warm so put it in the freezer. 4. Coat with chocolate. Don't use almond bark or imitation, people can tell the difference. Dark chocolate is rich; milk chocolate will taste like a hot cocoa ball; white chocolate has a great contrast. Most people who don't care for white chocolate like this one the best. 5. For dipping chocolate: warm up water to 180 degrees. If you have an electric tea kettle it works pretty well. I don't have a double boiler so I find a large pot and fill it with 2" of water. Then, I have a metal mixing bowl to put the chocolate in. I don't take out all the balls from the freezer; instead, take out about 20 at a time. They'll keep form better when dipping. I use a teaspoon to toss chocolate on then place onto parachment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Excellent - made dough entirely in food processor. I too used white chocolate to coat, and sprinkled with jimmies so they were pretty as well. I followed a suggestion to use a tooth pick to dip, and had to re-heat chocolate a few seconds half way through so it didn't get too thick. Very easy - So fudgey and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made the cream cheese/cookie balls and stuck them in the fridge overnight on waxed paper. They were hard enough to dunk in the chocolate and came off the waxed paper easily. I then put them back on the waxed paper and back into the fridge. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I consider myself a pretty good baker. I rarely have difficulty with a recipe. But let me tell you - these were hard to make. Definitely tested my patience. I tried what some reviewers had said and froze the dough for a little while before rolling it. Even after that the dough was hard to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very rich and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States