O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Loved by all at a potluck. Modifications I made: I used Potatoes O'Brien instead of hash browns and added a portion of a second bag to equal 2 lbs. total. The potatoes were completely thawed when I started assembling. Sauteed the chopped onion with 3/4 cup of extra chopped green and red peppers; seasoned them with salt, pepper,and garlic powder; combined this with the potato mixture. I also cut down a lot of the butter as other reviewers did. I only used about 2 TBSP in the potato mixture, and roughly 4 TBSP. to drizzle over the topping. I also had to substitute crushed Caesar croutons for the cornflakes. Came out perfectly! Not watery in the least and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I used different cheeses (cleaning out the frig) and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Always good. Can use any shredded cheese. Can use crushed crackers, buttery or other for corn flakes which I never have. The diff in this recipe & another on-site is that there's no need to cover. I always use a TOTAL of 1/2 c. butter & it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Loved it.. I used Cream of Mushroom instead, also used much less butter based off of other reviews. Also I used a cheddar cheese. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
this is always a holiday must have. We love it so much we call it "THE potatoes"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
yum! I use the frozen potatoes that already have onion and peppers usually, but otherwise I just add dried minced onion and that does the trick, too (and saves a step, not having to chop up onions!). To make it slightly healthier, I omitted the butter completely, used fat free/light sour cream, and cheese made from 2% milk (cheddar and colby jack instead of american), and they still turned out great. All around, this is a great basic recipe that you can customize to your own tastes, which makes it a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is the closest recipe I could find to the one I lost. It's always a big hit. There are a few shortcuts I take that make this much easier and quicker to make. I use the shredded hash browns and don't even have to bother with thawing them. I also use onion powder as opposed to chopped onions because some people in my family don't like onions but that way I can still get the flavor. You can also find boxes of cornflake crumbs that save you from having to do it yourself....I always keep one on hand and I use it for other things as well. I also don't use the butter as other people have stated, but I do use 16 oz of sour cream and a 2 c bag of cheddar. For a little bit better topping, I add more shredded cheese to the cornflake crumbs (some melted butter can be added to the crumbs, and it would probably be best, but I usually don't bother). However, one tip to this recipe....cover the casserole with with foil for the first 30 minutes or so of cooking. Uncover and then add your crumbs (and cheese if desired) and bake uncovered for another 15-20 minutes or so. I wouldn't bake it with the crumb topping for the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Tastes sooo good!!! Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Love this casserole! Been making a variation of it for years, we use sharp shredded cheddar and it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne618

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
great/easy recipe...added a can of drained green chilis to give it a lil zip...will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States