O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I'm sorry--I must be the deviant--but I didn't think this was good at all. Both my husband and I were sick from all the butter and the flavor of everything wasn't good at all! Ewww!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This was a pretty tasty recipe, but I didn't like it enough to serve at a gathering, it's nothing special. It's fine for home, although I don't know if I'd make it again. My only big complaint is that I checked the back of the hash brown pototes bag (I thought I spotted a new recipe to try) and I did spot a recipe - this very SAME one! The only difference was they asked for 1/4 cup butter, not 1/2, it had the corn flake topping and everything. Picky hubby said it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Mmmm, this was so yummy! Definently a comfort food!! I probably won't be making often due ONLY to the fat content, but this is absolutely perfect for potlucks - delicious and it makes a whole casserole dish worth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Excellent, easy and with a quick mix of the ingrediants, your hands are free to complete the main meal. I added some chopped green/red bell peppers and 1/4 cup minced green onions, which added some kick. I too used a little less butter but overall, I would continue to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent and quick to put together. I have also cut back on the butter and it is still delicious. This recipe allows you to add whatever you like on potatoes (i.e. peppers or a little picante) to make it personally yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I love this recipe...it's so easy. One time I was in a real hurry...I had no sour cream and I had no onions. So, instead of the sour cream, I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and mixed it in the blender with the other soup and some milk and substituted that. I also used dried onion flakes. I actually enjoyed it this way and have changed my recipe so I'll make it the same way each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I enjoyed this dish, I passed it on to my daughter to make for my son-in-law, Brian, I know he'll love it, it is named after him, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Simple to assemble, no mess no bother, and it is the hit of the meal every time I prepare it, which is often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
It was very good although next time I will double the amount of corn flakes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
I've used a version of this recipe for years. I generally use frozen hash browns and when in a real pinch, frozen chopped onions and pre-shredded cheese. You can mix it up and throw it in the oven while you're dressing and within the hour you're out the door to your next 'do. For a quick brunch or light dinner, add cubed ham and broccoli florets. A wonderful, family-friendly one-pan dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States