O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I used this recipe for a brunch served the morning after my daughter's wedding. It was very successful---I heard only positive comments. I followed the recipe except cut back on the amount of melted butter and cut the amount of shredded cheese in half. I think you could add some chopped chive to further enhance the flavor. It is a "definite" to make it to my regular recipe box . . . even the bride asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I make this recipe at Christmas time and my family always wants the recipe. I never come home with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nobleton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
the flavor of this recipe was great, but it had way too much butter and there was no way that a 2 pound bag of hash brown potatoes would work--I used maybe 3/4 of a pound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Nahhhh!! Sorry to be the exception to the rule. I usually make a similar recipe that calls for Chedder instead of the American Cheese. The old recipe calls for mixing the ingredients instead of layering - and it turns out creamier and more tasty in my opinion We had 6 people at the table and everyone said it was different than my old recipe and I should go back to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I changed the recipe slightly and reduced it to 2 servings for my boyfriend and myself and it is absolutely fantastic! I am a vegetarian, so I couldn't use the cream of chicken soup. Instead I used cream of mushroom soup and added my Boca vegetarian bacon. Mmmmmmmmmmm... it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I absolutely love this recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. My husband thinks it's the best comfort food. No leftovers when I cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFFREYNCHERRY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
There are several recipes posted that are very close to this one and I used this one as the "base" for my version based on the ingredients I had on hand. Reviewers comments were that there was a lot of butter, so I made a lower fat version. I used about 1/4 cup of butter to saute the onions and used healthy request mushroom soup and low fat sour cream and low fat cheddar cheese. I also added about 2 cups of chopped leftover Easter ham. I just sprinkled a bit of cheese on the top, as I didn't have any cornflakes. I was hoping for leftovers, but the kids just loved it. They even ate all of their steamed califlower so they could heve seconds. The beauty of this recipe is that it is very flexible so you can vary the taste with what you have on hand. Next time I'll put in some chopped peppers and try the topping. Thanks Suzanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Delish! (Just a note: Some of what looks like melted butter may be oil/fat from the cheese, not butter. That still doesn't make it health-food, but sometimes you just have to live a little.) This is quick, easy, and very tastey so I'm all for it. Plus, you can add accent ingredients to put your personal tounch on it. This can be made fancy for more formal meals or a casual brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I would have rated this a 5, but I think the butter needs to be cut way down. It was a tasty dish, but the entire thing was just swimming in butter. The only change I made was to saute the onions beforehand. The next time I make this, the butter is going to be reduced by half in both steps of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I'm sorry--I must be the deviant--but I didn't think this was good at all. Both my husband and I were sick from all the butter and the flavor of everything wasn't good at all! Ewww!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States