O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This recipe is always in high demand! Great for potlucks and bbq's. Also I use frosted cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
In my family's version we skip the half cup of butter with the potato mixture- you don't need it! And instead of the cheese, we use a jar of Cheese Whiz! And we use Cream of Celery soup. It's easier and just as good, if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I first tasted this an office party. It was sooo good and golden brown. I serve it with fried catfish fillets and green beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was really yummy. My father-in-law really liked this too, which is always wonderful. The 2nd time I made this, I added a packet of dry ranch dressing. It gave it some tang. Both ways were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Very easy, great flavors! Truly a crowd favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Decadent and YUMMIE! How could it be bad with all the creamy buttery goodness? I can't follow a recipe so I subbed O'Brien potatoes that have onion and green pepper so I wouldn't have to cut up the onion. Also used Cheddar instead of american cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is absolutely delicious with a few adjustments. I used the hashbrowns with peppers and onions and sharp cheddar instead of american cheese. Also used crushed potato chips on top instead of cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This recipe is so simple and delicious it is insane! I have made it 3 times now and to each meal it has been perfect. It is an inexpensive, easy addition to a meal, or a quick and simple main course with a salad (vinegrette dressing would be ideal. Give it a go.. it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I make this constantly, so much so that my family has asked for a reprieve, but I will pass along my tips: Some of the bags of cubed hashbrowns they sell are no longer 2 lbs. so check carefully. I find generic to be the best. I use a 2c. bag of sharp cheddar in place of the american cheese; any cheese will work, but we prefer the sharper flavor. I too cut back on butter, it's just not necessary. I nuke the potatoes for about 10 minutes alone or thaw them in the fridge overnight for a creamier consistency. For brunches, I use O'Brien potatoes (hash browns with the potatoes and onions and peppers already added), use cream of potato instead of chicken and add a pkg of precooked bacon crumbled up. Yum, people rave over that for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States