O' Henry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is the exact same recipe my family uses. However, we do the topping differently. We cool the oatmeal layer completely before spreading a whole jar of crunchy peanut butter on top and then we sprinkle a bag of chocolate chips on top of that. Then we return the pan to the oven and when the chocolate chips are starting to look melty we take the bars out and spread the chocolate like frosting. They cut best when cooled completely again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
My husband has always loved O'Henry bars and he's been after me for years to find a recipe. This is DEFINITELY the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
They tasted delicious, but they took quite a while to set. Fortunately, they do not take much time or effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynne Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Easy and scrumptious. I didn't change a thing. Wait, I did refrigerate before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
A hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I have made these bars for years and we love them. The key is to not over bake them. Remember they continue to bake in the pan after they are out of the oven. The idea is to simply melt the crust so it will stay in one piece when serving.I bake mine for 10 mins. I have always melted the peanut butter and choc. together and then spread on crust.Let cool. Then cut and serve. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Yummy and easy! I doubled the recipe, and left them in my freezer. By the end of the weekend they were all gone. Everyone kept sneaking to the freezer to get more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is a good base but if you add a few things it's even better. I didn't add much but they really enhanced the flavor/texture. I subbed the rolled oats for quick oats, only used 2/3 a cup of butter which is plenty! I added 1 TSP of vanilla extract and a 9x13 inch GREASED pan, I only baked the oatmeal layer for 12 minutes, at 350 and cooled them a but before adding the topping. I added extra PB and a couple TSP of sugar to the topping and melted it over very low heat stirring consistently since chocolate burns so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this exact recipe for 40 years, so I cannot figure out why it's not working for many cooks; it never failed even when I was 12 years old. You MUST heavily grease or butter the pan prior to pressing the crust into it. Also, when I take the crust out of the oven, I use a greased (sprayed with Pam, buttered, whatever is handy) spatula to separate the crust from the sides of the pan: press the end of the spatula between the crust and the pan. This step makes the bars easier to remove from the pan. The topping can be spread on the crust when the crust has cooled enough to be just warm to the touch. The bars should be chilled before cutting and serving, and they should be stored in the fridge. In order to conserve room while storing, after they are cold,I cut them up and layered them in a plastic container (waxed paper between the layers). I was "famous" for these bars at work; everyone was very, very happy when I brought them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kp72

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States