Nutty Coconut Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is excellent as is. I live where White Fish is easily obtainable fresh. Like near White Fish Point near Brimley, Michigan in the beautiful Upper Penninsula. I only have one extra comment on a comment. PLEASE DO NOT COOK AT HIGHER HEAT as one suggested. Fish do not need to be cooked at such high heat....an even 350*to 375* is perfect. when fish is done, the coating turns brown, even in oil. You do not want to over cook the outer, before the inner is done, or that "fishy" taste will come through. be sure to skin it and remove the grey fat layer and blood line from it. that is where any bacteria and fishy taste comes from, especially if it has been frozen. take it from a 67 year old White Fish fisherman and connoisseur of fish chef......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I've used this recipe with snow cod several times and altered it a few times according to what I had on hand. I've ommitted the cayenne, used several different types of nuts and even none at all, used different mustards, sweetened coconut and black pepper, etc. Also, instead of baking it, I've pan fried it slowly until it turns crispy and golden. My husband is not a fish fan being from a state that doesn't get it very fresh while I crave seafood. We BOTH love this recipe and usually wish we had made more after it's done. Also, no matter the alterations, it's always tasty although the original is great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Really unique flavor! Such a great, crunchy coating, but the healthiness of a baked (not fried) dish. I'll sub f-f sour cream for the mayo next time to go a little healthier. Uses on-hand ingredients, and is super-quick to fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I highly recommend this! Fish is hard to cook, but this recipe was easy and it came out perfect. I made a few changes to suit my family's taste. I used tilapia. I reversed the quantities on the breadcrumbs and mixed nuts (so there were more nuts and less breadcrumbs); I also added extra coconut. It came out great, absolutely delicious, and the kids loved it! Next time I may try Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe - this will be a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I mixed the dry spices with the wet ingredients instead of dry, and I used panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I substituted Miracle Whip for Mayonnaise, used Zesty French's Deli mustared, used sweetened flake coconut that was 6 months expired, used just a sprinkle of cayenne pepper, used only chopped pecans (all I had on hand), used less sugar and salt than called for in the recipe, and baked it at 400 instead of 375 ('cause fish needs to bake at high heat.) It still tasted great! Whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made this last night. WOW, this was awesome. My kids loved it. I sed chopped pecans as I did not have mixed nuts and I used paprika so it wouldn't not be too zippy for my little one. Also, I used mustard w/honey instead of brown mustard. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great recipe. To make it healthier I substituted Greek yogurt instead of the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. I quite often substitute basa fillets for the cod and use almonds or cashews only for the mixed nuts. I also use dijon mustard with a low-fat mayo and it still tastes great. This one is easy to make and tastes wonderful. I cut down on the cayenne pepper (to 1/4 tsp.) because of my children but would love to try it full spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
this was the best fish recipe ever! I didn't change a thing and it was fantastic! thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States