Nutty Coconut Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. I quite often substitute basa fillets for the cod and use almonds or cashews only for the mixed nuts. I also use dijon mustard with a low-fat mayo and it still tastes great. This one is easy to make and tastes wonderful. I cut down on the cayenne pepper (to 1/4 tsp.) because of my children but would love to try it full spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I used catfish with this recipe and served with jasmine rice rice and coconut curry. I followed the directions exactly, and while the catfish came out perfect, I personally felt like the brown mustard was a little overpowering. I had to spoon my curry onto the fish to help mask the strong mustard aroma. It did the trick, and the coconut fish complimented the curry very well, but I don't think I could have eaten it by itself. I also was slightly put off by the texture, the batter was soft coming out of the oven- not crispy. Of course I should have known better considering that this was oven baked and not fried. I try to avoid frying at all costs, but sometimes certain foods are just best that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used haddock to make this. It is definitely a very interesting recipe! The flavour of the crust was incredible. Assuming the coconut would be sweet enough, I didn't add any additional sugar. I also used ground almonds instead of mixed nuts. I wanted my crust to be a nice golden brown, so I pan fried it in a little coconut oil instead of putting it in the oven. My husband and I both liked this quite a bit, but thought there was a little too much mustard flavour. Next time I'll cut that in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This recipe has enough sweet & spicey to it. Great texture from the crunch of the nuts & coconut. Used dover sole fillets. will deffinitely prepare again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri707

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Too much salt and too much mustard. I would cut them both in half and add more coconut to balance the salty/spicy with a little more sweet. I ate it with a mango salsa which went really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I used cornflakes in place of the bread crumbs and as I used sweetened flaked coconut I omitted the sugar, I also dredged my fish in flour before I dipped it in the mayonaisse mixture. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
this was the best fish recipe ever! I didn't change a thing and it was fantastic! thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was good, hubby says 3.5 to 4, I say 3 to 3.5! Ued pickerel and baked at 400 for about 22mins. I used ground almonds and had to make my own breadcrumbs. As coconut tends to be sweet enough, I opted out of adding the sugar and also decided to leave out the salt as I didn't think it was needed. Used a combo of yellow/whole grain dijon mustard and used Miracle Whip as I don't buy 'mayo'. Despite leaving out the sugar, I did find this somewhat sweet. Overall, decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made this last night. WOW, this was awesome. My kids loved it. I sed chopped pecans as I did not have mixed nuts and I used paprika so it wouldn't not be too zippy for my little one. Also, I used mustard w/honey instead of brown mustard. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States