Nutty Coconut Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very good recipe! We would definitely make this again. I followed directions exactly except I put it under the broiler for a minute or two to crisp up the top and I did follow another persons comments and used less dijon mustard. I think I would use even less next time. I would cut it in 1/2. I served it with carrot rice from this site, but omitted the peanuts from that recipe. I also used coconut oil instead of the butter. *Note* My husband doesn't like coconut too much and he really liked it too. The coconut offers sweetness and crunchy, but not too strong of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I used chitpole pepper mustard because it was all I had but still was just the right amount of heat. Wasn't sure I'd like the nuts but it gave the breading a unique flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
ok, so I made this for the first time. My fish was a bit on the wet side, so make sure you dry them off. I think that was part of my problem. I don't think 375 for my oven was hot enough, so I put it up to 400 after a bit as it was not cooking well. I flipped the fish over loosing most of the coating which was my fault, but I like to cook both sides. I will make sure my pan has more oil next time too. Despite my frustration and mess it still tasted great. My husband raved about it, and wants it often. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is absolutely delicious, and tastes like it's much more complicated to make than it actually is! My poisson of choice: mahi mahi! I omit the salt, use all almonds instead of mixed nuts, and use panko bread crumbs instead of standard, and WOW, what a flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Statler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Excellent Got a lot of compliments I used sliced almond instead of mixed nuts and omitted the sugar. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I used homemade breadcrumbs from thin slices of sourdough bread, baking them at 375 degrees until they were golden and crisp. I recommend reducing salt by a team least half because the mustard & mayo also add salt; next time I'll try cutting the salt by half. My whole family loved this, thanks do much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and like another reviewer I found the mustard to be overpowering and the coating did not get crunchy enough. Not bad, but just not scrumptious. I made a lot and wound up using it for fish sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Good recipe! A little messy but easy. Helped jazz up some cheap pollock that I picked up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I liked it however it was a bit too sweet for my taste.I have a huge sweet tooth but it didn't seem right with fish. I will make it again, cutting the coconut either fully or perhaps in half and adding more crushed nuts. The fish was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This fish dish was fantastic. I did omit the salt, and also used unsweetened coconut, with a ground pecan and almond for the nuts. I used a light white basa fish, and the taste was perfect. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States