Nutty Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is a delicious and beautiful salad! With the addition of carrots, it would have every color in the rainbow (except blue, of course!) and it tastes even better than it looks! I didn't add the mushrooms, because I didn't have any, and I also doubled the amount of salad dressing, because it was a little bland. With these changes, the salad is absolutely fantastic and so healthy! I will definitely make this again; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
LOVE this salad! Simple and refreshing. I did add a little more salad dressing and omitted the olive oil. I also added a couple sliced pepperoncinis. I will be making this again and again, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I love this salad! So healthy and yummy! I took it to a picnic and everyone loved it! Even my 7yr old! After reading othe reviews, I did add a little more dressing and it turned out great! Great leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
SOOOOOO good!!! I am trying to watch what I eat and this fit the bill, plus it is super tasty. The changes I made were: 1) omitted the mushrooms 2) didn't have a yellow bell pepper, so just chopped up 1 whole green pepper and 1 whole red pepper and used them 3) added in a little bit of garlic salt 4) doubled the evoo and dressing per other reviews 5) used black beans as opposed to kidney beans 6) used sliced almonds (and probably had a bit more than 2 tbs). It's easy to throw together and now I will have lunch on hand for the next few days. THANK YOU for sharing such a delicious & nutrient dense recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was not only delicious, it was beautiful too, and very healthy. Great to pack for lunches, and provides compleat protein for vegetarians. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was awesome! I used more rice (made it in my rice cooker, and added salt, which this dish needed!), and a LOT more veggies: a whole crown of broccoli (cooked in the microwave for 3 minutes with 2 Tbl. water), 1/2 cup green bell pepper, 1/2 cup red bell pepper, 1/2 cup yellow bell pepper, and 1/2 pkg fresh mushrooms. Also, I toasted the almonds to bring out the flavor. Since I added more ingredients, I needed to double the dressing & olive oil, and add a bit more pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Added pomegranate-infused craisins to this for a slightly sweet element. I added more nuts, walnut and pine, because I love them! I agree that this needed a lot more dressing. Added some other seasonings like seasoned pepper, shallot salt, etc because I felt it needed a bit more kick--but season to taste! People at a gathering loved this and is a nice change from potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this for Dinner yesterday and it was very tasty. Used the leftovers for lunch in tortillas. Makes good wraps. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Clute, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've been looking for a rice salad recipe for the longest time! I used to work in a coffee house that sold a sunflower-seed-longrain rice salad that I loved, and this recipe is almost EXACTLY the same! I followed the recipe as stated and added shredded carrot and sliced green onion to it. I didn't have any beans, but the salad was just fine without them - although I will try adding chick peas in the future. I used Kraft Golden Italian dressing, and like other reviewers, added MUCH more than the recommended 2 tbsp...I added over 5 tbsp ;P But it's really up to the individual - if you like more dressing, then this recipe allows you to add more without ruining the combined flavours :) My family like this recipe so much that I had to make ANOTHER batch the next day! And my hubby suggested I make this salad for upcoming family functions :) I will continue making this salad, especially during the summer when I like eating lighter :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Like a lot of the other reviews, we added quite a bit more salad dressing than the recipe called for. I served it for guests and everyone liked it. I think the kidney beans and slivered almonds really made this unique. It is pretty, healthy, has a great texture, and tastes really good, too. Will make again - Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States