Nutty Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is a delicious and beautiful salad! With the addition of carrots, it would have every color in the rainbow (except blue, of course!) and it tastes even better than it looks! I didn't add the mushrooms, because I didn't have any, and I also doubled the amount of salad dressing, because it was a little bland. With these changes, the salad is absolutely fantastic and so healthy! I will definitely make this again; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Thank you all for the wonderful reviews, they mean a LOT to me! I first came up with this recipe back in 2004 when my husband was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. It has evolved over the years, with additions, changes, or whatever my mood is. I now use EVOO and fat-free Italian dressing to equal roughly 1/4 cup (percentage of each is up to your personal tastes) I have tossed in asparagus, sunflower seeds, and completely switched to black beans about 4 years ago. The best thing some groceries have ever come up with for a busy working person are chopped veggies, and I have used my share of diced onions, and peppers from the grocery. I also used the precooked brown rice the last time, worked GREAT! I had an over abundance of cherry tomatoes last year, and halved a big handful and tossed them in. Ditto with extra Mini Pearl (grape tomatoes from Trader Joes), those go in whole. I have been known to toss in diced ham or chicken if the carnivores were descending. Happy cooking, and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've been looking for a rice salad recipe for the longest time! I used to work in a coffee house that sold a sunflower-seed-longrain rice salad that I loved, and this recipe is almost EXACTLY the same! I followed the recipe as stated and added shredded carrot and sliced green onion to it. I didn't have any beans, but the salad was just fine without them - although I will try adding chick peas in the future. I used Kraft Golden Italian dressing, and like other reviewers, added MUCH more than the recommended 2 tbsp...I added over 5 tbsp ;P But it's really up to the individual - if you like more dressing, then this recipe allows you to add more without ruining the combined flavours :) My family like this recipe so much that I had to make ANOTHER batch the next day! And my hubby suggested I make this salad for upcoming family functions :) I will continue making this salad, especially during the summer when I like eating lighter :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Like a lot of the other reviews, we added quite a bit more salad dressing than the recipe called for. I served it for guests and everyone liked it. I think the kidney beans and slivered almonds really made this unique. It is pretty, healthy, has a great texture, and tastes really good, too. Will make again - Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made this recipe as written (except I forgot to pick up a green pepper, but I did have orange, yellow, and red). Oh, and I used *minute* rice because I'm lazy. It's pretty good. I can't decide how I feel about it, but Mr. LTH liked it! It's most def worth trying!!! I had it for lunch and thought it was ok. Then, for dinner, I added a splash of banana pepper juice and a shake of parm cheese (I would have chopped up some banana peppers and added them too, but, I'm lazy) and that really made a difference for me! I will prob make again, as it is a very nutrient dense all-in-one side! Thanks for a unique recipe (and thanks to LARKSPUR for mentioning it on the RE!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this for Dinner yesterday and it was very tasty. Used the leftovers for lunch in tortillas. Makes good wraps. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Clute, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was awesome! I used more rice (made it in my rice cooker, and added salt, which this dish needed!), and a LOT more veggies: a whole crown of broccoli (cooked in the microwave for 3 minutes with 2 Tbl. water), 1/2 cup green bell pepper, 1/2 cup red bell pepper, 1/2 cup yellow bell pepper, and 1/2 pkg fresh mushrooms. Also, I toasted the almonds to bring out the flavor. Since I added more ingredients, I needed to double the dressing & olive oil, and add a bit more pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
LOVE this salad! Simple and refreshing. I did add a little more salad dressing and omitted the olive oil. I also added a couple sliced pepperoncinis. I will be making this again and again, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Very good recipe. I used pecans instead of almonds and an oil/sugar/vinegar dressing instead of Italian dressing. Love the combination of flavors. Will use this for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I love this salad... so different with the rice. I used pecans because I was out of almonds. Also, I used Italian dressing and added a little vinegar. Just a personal preference. Everything else was as listed and is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States