Nutty Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is a delicious and beautiful salad! With the addition of carrots, it would have every color in the rainbow (except blue, of course!) and it tastes even better than it looks! I didn't add the mushrooms, because I didn't have any, and I also doubled the amount of salad dressing, because it was a little bland. With these changes, the salad is absolutely fantastic and so healthy! I will definitely make this again; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I love this salad... so different with the rice. I used pecans because I was out of almonds. Also, I used Italian dressing and added a little vinegar. Just a personal preference. Everything else was as listed and is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made this recipe as written (except I forgot to pick up a green pepper, but I did have orange, yellow, and red). Oh, and I used *minute* rice because I'm lazy. It's pretty good. I can't decide how I feel about it, but Mr. LTH liked it! It's most def worth trying!!! I had it for lunch and thought it was ok. Then, for dinner, I added a splash of banana pepper juice and a shake of parm cheese (I would have chopped up some banana peppers and added them too, but, I'm lazy) and that really made a difference for me! I will prob make again, as it is a very nutrient dense all-in-one side! Thanks for a unique recipe (and thanks to LARKSPUR for mentioning it on the RE!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I made this for a barbeque and it was enjoyed by all. I cheated and used minute brown rice. I did use more dressing than the recipe called for and my husband said he thought it was still a little dry. The little bit I did bring home tasted even better after sitting in the fridge for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Like a lot of the other reviews, we added quite a bit more salad dressing than the recipe called for. I served it for guests and everyone liked it. I think the kidney beans and slivered almonds really made this unique. It is pretty, healthy, has a great texture, and tastes really good, too. Will make again - Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I love this salad! So healthy and yummy! I took it to a picnic and everyone loved it! Even my 7yr old! After reading othe reviews, I did add a little more dressing and it turned out great! Great leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very good and versaltile. You can easily add or omit vegetables. We're trying to "Eat to Live" and this fits the plan pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
LOVE this salad! Simple and refreshing. I did add a little more salad dressing and omitted the olive oil. I also added a couple sliced pepperoncinis. I will be making this again and again, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this for Dinner yesterday and it was very tasty. Used the leftovers for lunch in tortillas. Makes good wraps. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Clute, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've been looking for a rice salad recipe for the longest time! I used to work in a coffee house that sold a sunflower-seed-longrain rice salad that I loved, and this recipe is almost EXACTLY the same! I followed the recipe as stated and added shredded carrot and sliced green onion to it. I didn't have any beans, but the salad was just fine without them - although I will try adding chick peas in the future. I used Kraft Golden Italian dressing, and like other reviewers, added MUCH more than the recommended 2 tbsp...I added over 5 tbsp ;P But it's really up to the individual - if you like more dressing, then this recipe allows you to add more without ruining the combined flavours :) My family like this recipe so much that I had to make ANOTHER batch the next day! And my hubby suggested I make this salad for upcoming family functions :) I will continue making this salad, especially during the summer when I like eating lighter :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States