Nutty Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Even my husband liked it. Easy and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
this is great for lunch at work since it has protein, carbs, and doesn't need to be heated! i throw it in my lunchbag with an ice pack, and i'm good to go :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joBilberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Ridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was not only delicious, it was beautiful too, and very healthy. Great to pack for lunches, and provides compleat protein for vegetarians. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I was really excited about trying this recipe but the outcome was kind of a let down. Sure this is healthy salad, but that's about all it has going for it. It taste like eating cold rice, which I guess I just realized is not very pleasing to my palate.. I plan on trying to mix the leftovers into some chicken enchilada recipe. My husband like it ok, so it could just be me. But when it comes to salads there are a lot of others I'd recommend before this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I added Chili Garlic Sauce to add more flavor. Great recipie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Very good recipe. I used pecans instead of almonds and an oil/sugar/vinegar dressing instead of Italian dressing. Love the combination of flavors. Will use this for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
We have anti-Italian dressing people in the household so I had to nix that part of the recipe, leaving the flavor somewhat bland. I added some chopped jalapenos and cayenne to spice it up and thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sourgurl758

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Looks very pretty, but is a little boring. It's a nice summer side dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Added pomegranate-infused craisins to this for a slightly sweet element. I added more nuts, walnut and pine, because I love them! I agree that this needed a lot more dressing. Added some other seasonings like seasoned pepper, shallot salt, etc because I felt it needed a bit more kick--but season to taste! People at a gathering loved this and is a nice change from potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Thank you all for the wonderful reviews, they mean a LOT to me! I first came up with this recipe back in 2004 when my husband was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. It has evolved over the years, with additions, changes, or whatever my mood is. I now use EVOO and fat-free Italian dressing to equal roughly 1/4 cup (percentage of each is up to your personal tastes) I have tossed in asparagus, sunflower seeds, and completely switched to black beans about 4 years ago. The best thing some groceries have ever come up with for a busy working person are chopped veggies, and I have used my share of diced onions, and peppers from the grocery. I also used the precooked brown rice the last time, worked GREAT! I had an over abundance of cherry tomatoes last year, and halved a big handful and tossed them in. Ditto with extra Mini Pearl (grape tomatoes from Trader Joes), those go in whole. I have been known to toss in diced ham or chicken if the carnivores were descending. Happy cooking, and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States