Nutty Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Really enjoyed this salad. May have added more dressing than listed and sub'd cashews for almonds since I don't like them much. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Nutty is right! I love these kind of Everything-But-The-Kitchen-Sink salads that are healthy with a lot of vegetables. My only complaint is the 1/4 cup amounts for each of the veggies, not even close to enough so I added much more. Otherwise I loved it. The dressing amount was fine for me, I used a very strong dressing I made myself. Used Wehani rice which is a chewy, nutty red rice. I served this as a side dish, but this is actually a meal all unto itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I liked this recipe, but cooked rice in chicken broth for more flavor. I also blanched the broccoli & put it immediately in ice water to get brighter color. Also needed to add more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Works great as a salad-in-a-jar. Just layer dressing, celery, rice, beans, then your soft veggies and some spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
We both LOVE this. Great recipe. So delicious and yet simple. I didn't add mushrooms out of personal taste and next I would add a little more olive oil and Italian dressing. The flavors are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
LOVED by everyone in my family (and some co-workers too)! Other than a lot of chopping, super-easy and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Just tried this and we really love it. I had a couple of snafus, but it worked out okay. I used sweet brown rice, but had just under a cup of it. I mistakenly used a 2:1 ratio when I boiled the water, so I ended up just rinsing with cold water in a strainer. Added benefit - immediately cool rice. I then discovered that I had no can of kidney beans... ummm... quickly improvising, I omitted the beans and used champagne dressing instead of italian, thinking I could play it off as a broccoli/pepper/lemon/garlicky Italian style flavor. Bingo. So aside from screwing up completely on the base, it is really good. Still refrigerating a bit to serve with some baked chicken aux herbes de provence and fresh artichokes. Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Everybody really enjoyed this dish.I did have to add extra evoo and spiced it up with alittle more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Really good and easy. I added pineapplb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great salad it went fast, next tennis match make a 8 serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States