Nutty Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
excellent - I used to have a very similar recipe that I have been looking for, for a long time. One thing that needs to be done differently is to cream together the sugar and butter before you add the bananas, so the butter doesn't "separate" when the bananas are added. I also add a generous sprinkling of brown sugar to the top before baking to give a good sweet crunchy top to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I loved this banana bread! The texture from the nuts is wonderful. I found that after combining all the ingredients, and starting to pour the batter into the loaf pans, that there really wasn't enough for three pans. I cooked it in two, lowered the temp to 300, and baked it for an extra 15 minutes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I love this banana bread, and so did my family. I left out the nuts and I wound up with a wonderful, fluffy bread that my family just gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My family loves this bread. I added 1 1/2 Tablespoons of Vanilla Extract and about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. I then added the brown sugar on top and it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This banana bread reminds me of the stuff my grandmother use to make... There is so much banana flavor swarming inside it's almost unbearable. One thing I really liked is using two kinds of nuts- It was a nice change. I've made it twice. Once with the rasins and once without- both times it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I tried this and i thought i was terrible... I cooked it for twice the time recommended and it burnt on the outside and the inside was very doughy. it was very dense and heavy and didnt rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmamma1157

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good banana bread. I did cut the recipe in half, and added a tsp. of vanilla extract (just cause I love it). Very moist and dense, and great banana flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winters, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This banana bread was a lovely reicpe to make. It was easy to put together and the house smelled great while it cooked! I used VREY over ripe bananas that I think deepened the flavor. Next time I shall use vanille extract... I felt it was missing something. But over all It's a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This recipe is great. It went over really well with everyone. I followed the recipe and it was just wonderful. It is not sweet but fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very good. Extremely nutty. If you don't like nuts, this one probably isn't for you. I used a full cup of mixed nuts I ran through the blender, as that's all I had on hand. This'll be great for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States