Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Picked apples from the two apple trees in my backyard. Not sure what variety (resembled red delicious), but they made 4 apple crisps. Used an apple/potato corer/peeler. They were sweet enough that I halved the brown sugar to 1/2 c, doubled the oats to 1 c, and adjusted the spices to 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp cloves. Also filled the pans generously, leaving enough room for the topping, and served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ephraim, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Really good, I cut it back to about 2 servings but didn't measure everything exact and added a bit of cinnamon for our own tastes bakes them in individual ramekins. Will be making this a lot this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a FABULOUS recipe! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!!!! Quick and easy. I did tweek it a bit, with organic wheat flour, less sugar and more oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I've tried a few apple crisp recipes on this site and hands down, this is my favorite! It's delicious w/ or w/out nuts. I usually just squeeze a whole fresh lemon with the dry ingredients asked for, and mix it in a bowl well. Then I pour it over the apples in a larger bowl, tossing to make sure every apple is coated with the sugary marinade. I always buy 3 kinds of apples and meticulously alternate them in the baking dish, to make a nice, even blend of flavors. It's worth the extra effort. I promise. I've expedited this version at times by using a box of maple granola cereal crumbled up with maple sugar from Trader Joe's, then adding the flour, baking soda, baking powder and melted butter as stated in the recipe for the topping. It expedites the topping and tastes delicious. My boyfriend and his 12 yr old son tell me they want this made every weekend! I've even made this with fresh peaches in the Summer for a change and man oh man is it decadent w/ vanilla ice cream. This is a definite saver to your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I haven't tried it yet, but it seems to be great and easy so I shall try it soon. I like fruit crumbles especially easy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Doubled for a large dutch oven and it was amazing! We like more oats and less flour, so we used 1/4 cup flour to 3/4 cup of oats (then doubled) and that variation worked just fine as well. Some fresh grated nutmeg also added a little magic to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This rcipe is to die for. I did add 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I served it to my guests warm with vanilla ice cream and got rave reviews. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
very good! Only thing I did different from the recipe was to add some cinnamon and a little less nutmeg since nutmeg is not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was good, I did add a few things, and am very glad I did. I used 5 medium apples (usually it says a cup per apple). I think the recipe may need more apples. I also thought that the topping perhaps should have used a pastry blender and cold butter instead of softened. I think it is easier to work with that way. Just with my experience, if I were to serve this right away, it would have been a little soupy. I let it stand for about a half an hour or so, and it set up nicely. I did have a tiny taste before I froze this, and the spices there were not overpowering and a nice blend with the ones I added. Great Job, just have an additional apple or two if you put it in the pan and it looks like more should go in, put more in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I read some other reviews and a tip for those who are finding your topping to be too dry....try mixing in the butter using your fingers instead of cutting it in. Try not to over mix but even if you do it would still turn out great! :) Served warm with french vanilla ice cream on top mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States