Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Wow! As this bakes, your entire home will be filled with the most wonderful aroma!!! I made a few changes, only because of necessity. Changes: I used orange juice instead of lemon, a mixture of 3 Granny Smith,2 Braeborn and 2 Gala apples, and I sliced them very thin. Also, I added 2 tsp cinnamon - as suggested by others. This is my new favorite apple crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This sounds great. I would never have thought to put nuts in it. I am going to try this for my Halloween Party in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda&Jens'Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The flavor of this is wonderful, but it the way it is written, there is too much "crisp" for the amount of apples. Next time I will either double the apples or half the "crisp".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I've been craving apple crisp since we've been enjoying cooler weather in Kansas, so I made this last evening. It's delicious! I used 4 large Granny Smith apples (left the peeling on 2)and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. The apples were a bit tart for my husband's taste, but a scoop of vanilla ice cream sweetened it up for him. This is a definite "repeat" and next time I plan to use pecans in the topping and drizzle with warm caramel sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I also added cinnamon and extra oats. I only had Gala apples which probably is why this was a tad too sweet for me. I am sure with a tart apple this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Used 3 apples, an 8x8 dish, and added clove and extra walnuts. Cooked for 30 minutes.. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I had a craving for an apple dessert, and I love anything nutty - so this seemed like the perfect choice. I didn't want to make the entire amount, so I halved the apple part of the recipe (but kept the topping mixture measurements the same - so that I could use it as a "crust" and a topping). Once I tossed the apples in a bowl with the water and lemon juice, I also added cinnamon.. probably about 1 tsp. worth. For the crumb topping, I took the advice of others and doubled the oatmeal and halved the butter. I crushed sliced almonds and walnuts for the "nut mixture".. and I also decreased the sugar total to 1/2 cup (I don't like things to be too sweet). Also, I used all whole wheat flour, and added more cinnamon to the crumb mixture. I lightly sprayed cooking spray in an 8x8 square baking dish.. poured in half of the crumb mixture, and then layered the apples over it, and then poured the remaining crumb mixture on top of it all. I sprayed with a bit more cooking spray to make sure it would brown well. Even though I used an 8x8 dish, the cooking time remained the same at 45 minutes. I sprinkled more sliced almonds on top at the very end (love the crunch!), and it is truly a deeeelicious treat! And, it's on the "healthier" side of desserts, so that's a plus. I used Granny Smith apples (only needed two for the halved recipe). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was very good after a change or two. I agree with the addition of cinnamon a must with an apple dish. I also added just a touch of clove, vanilla and ginger into the apple portion, not the topping. I soaked a half cup of currants, (you could use raisins or dried cranberries), in hot water for 5 minutes, drained and stirred those in for an added dimension. I also used pecans I chopped and toasted lightly in a frying pan, instead of walnuts in the topping and used more that the recipe called for. The family thought it was great. I served it warm with some french vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was GREAT! Just what I was looking for! The apple treasure under a layer of crunchy nutty flavors! Thanks for the great recipe. I did add extra chopped nuts, the more the better for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Venus-Fenrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Litchfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
In the south we like our desserts "sweet". I used granny smith apples and the next time I make this I will add 1/2 cup of sugar in with the lemon/water mixture. It was a bit tart w/out the sugar. Good if that's the kind of crisp you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States