Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was generous with the fresh lemon juice-maybe 2 1/2 to 3Tbl. 1/8 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp cinnamon.The rest stayed the same. I now call this recipe Gormet Apple Crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe was good though I expected a nuttier flavor. I used walnuts and pecans and even added some directly to the apples but not a very nutty flavor for some reason. I also bought a package of apple crisp and just added additional rolled oats, sugar and nutmeg to save time when making the topping. I also used 2 types of apples, granny smith and red delicious which gave a great varying sweet and sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
turned out great! added cinnamon and a little extra oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
AWESOME recipe! I used Granny Smith apples because I like the tangy flavour. I used pecans instead of walnuts because I'm allergic. That's all I changed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had lost my go to recipe for apple crisp that a friend gave me & thought this one mostly resembled what I remembered about my lost recipe... this one had a good flavor- but seems to have too much butter/ brown sugar or maybe not enough oats & flour. I did double the recipe for a Christmas gathering, so I don't know if that was part of the problem. The topping, for me, spread out a lot & seem to overwhelm the apples. Like I said, an okay flavor, but maybe adding less butter & sugar and a little more oats/ flour would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is fantastic, I added some dried cherries just because I had some but this recipe needs no tweaks at all., It is scrumptous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicora, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I didn't care for this, I don't know what happened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Simple and delicious. The nuts in the topping added an extra layer of taste and texture that we really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Sooo goood!!! Love the taste, its crispy, nutty, yammy, ... I subbed the lemon Juice with 1/4 cup orange juice. Will make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I love this! I made the following changes: -just a tiny bit of water -extra bit of flour -extra bit of oats -little less sugar -subbed cinnamon for nutmeg (didn't have nutmeg) -no nuts (didn't have any) -peeled and cubed apples (I like the cubes because they keep their crunch a bit better than thin slices). This is one of my favorite desserts ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States