Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used pecans instead with Cortland and McIntosh apples. My husband loved it. Better than the pan crisps as the deeper dish provides more apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used Mutsu apples, green, firm and tart but not sour. I substituted 3/4 cup organic apple juice for the water. I put the sliced apples, added 1/2 cup dried cranberries and the juice in a pot on low heat to release the apple juices while I prepared the rest of the ingredients. I used 1/2 cup organic cane sugar and followed the recipe but added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the nutmeg....So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindys Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
YUM! I doubled the topping and pressed some of it in the bottom of the dish. Also I subbed cinnamon for nutmeg-personal preference. Tastes like fall to me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was a hit! I added extra apples and filled the pan pretty much to the top with the apples and mixed in 1 TSP of cinnamon to apples. Then doubled the oats, added 1 TSP of cinnamon to topping and decreased the butter slightly. Served with a scoop of natural vanilla. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I love the apple - nutmeg combo. Sometimes it is OK not to use cinnamon, especially if you have a good brand of nutmeg such as Watkins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great recipe that was a spin off of a classic. I used more like 7 cups of apples and added cinnamon and some vanilla to the crisp topping - I can't imagine the recipe without cinnamon and the vanilla added more depth of flavor in my opinion. I used 1/2 cup pecans b/c that is what I had on hand - put them through a nut grinder, so they were more of a fine chop than called for but they added a great texture and flavor to the dish - will continue to make through apple season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
really delicious and great as a gluten-free dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Made this apple crisp aug.12. It was really good, my family thoroughly enjoyed it, with vanilla ice cream. I loved it because it was not so sugary,it actually tasted healthy. Well done Jjohn32.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christaann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Yum! Made this for a family party and was gone in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States