Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Sorry, but I just didn't like it. The topping was too compact - almost like a shell. I like more of a crumble. The fruit was too sweet. My teeth were aching from the syrup. I used a combo of Gala and Granny smith. Served it at a family dinner. Hubby likes it - he has a wicked sweet tooth tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I used pecans instead with Cortland and McIntosh apples. My husband loved it. Better than the pan crisps as the deeper dish provides more apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used Mutsu apples, green, firm and tart but not sour. I substituted 3/4 cup organic apple juice for the water. I put the sliced apples, added 1/2 cup dried cranberries and the juice in a pot on low heat to release the apple juices while I prepared the rest of the ingredients. I used 1/2 cup organic cane sugar and followed the recipe but added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the nutmeg....So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindys Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
YUM! I doubled the topping and pressed some of it in the bottom of the dish. Also I subbed cinnamon for nutmeg-personal preference. Tastes like fall to me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was a hit! I added extra apples and filled the pan pretty much to the top with the apples and mixed in 1 TSP of cinnamon to apples. Then doubled the oats, added 1 TSP of cinnamon to topping and decreased the butter slightly. Served with a scoop of natural vanilla. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I love the apple - nutmeg combo. Sometimes it is OK not to use cinnamon, especially if you have a good brand of nutmeg such as Watkins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great recipe that was a spin off of a classic. I used more like 7 cups of apples and added cinnamon and some vanilla to the crisp topping - I can't imagine the recipe without cinnamon and the vanilla added more depth of flavor in my opinion. I used 1/2 cup pecans b/c that is what I had on hand - put them through a nut grinder, so they were more of a fine chop than called for but they added a great texture and flavor to the dish - will continue to make through apple season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
really delicious and great as a gluten-free dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Made this apple crisp aug.12. It was really good, my family thoroughly enjoyed it, with vanilla ice cream. I loved it because it was not so sugary,it actually tasted healthy. Well done Jjohn32.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christaann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States