Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
OK - this is really, really good! I did substitute cinnamon for nutmeg because of my husband's strong dislike of nutmeg but would like to cook it again as suggested as I am curious as to how that turns out. Definitely the best apple crisp I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is very good. I didn't care for the nutmeg and will use cinnamon next time I make it, thus the 4-star rating. I made the full recipe of topping and put half in the freezer for an easy dessert another night, used two large apples and half the topping. I used Granny Smith apples, which were very tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was the best apple crisp we have ever had, and so easy to make my 10 year old helped me. We doubled the oats since it's our favorite part, and it was delicious right out of the oven and even the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My husband and I loved it. Very tasty and simple to make. Loved the walnuts in it, the extra crunch in great! :) P.S: I also doubled the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMSteele
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great recipe. I added pecans rather than walnuts as I prefer their flavor with apples and tossed some craisins over the apples prior to the topping. I agree with doubling the oats and the addition of cinnamon. This was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is a delicious recipe, even if you want to change it a bit. I doubled the recipe (using about 7 big apples of mixed varieties and a 9x13 glass baking dish), chopped apples instead of slicing, subbed cinnamon for nutmeg, and omitted the nuts. (Might try with nuts next time.) Just what I was looking for! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I have make this several times, it is great. Try using pears instead of apples. We had a bumper pear crop this year and it is also great with pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! I made 2 slight changes...added cinnamon as another reviewer suggested, and subbed half whole wheat flour. Otherwise followed the recipe as written, and it was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I cut this down to 2 servings made in a loaf pan, excellent with home made ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Sorry, but I just didn't like it. The topping was too compact - almost like a shell. I like more of a crumble. The fruit was too sweet. My teeth were aching from the syrup. I used a combo of Gala and Granny smith. Served it at a family dinner. Hubby likes it - he has a wicked sweet tooth tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States