Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Best apple crisp ever, the only one I will make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerymonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very good. I used a mix of chopped walnuts and pecans, and it was the best apple crisp I've ever had. The nuts make a huge difference in taste! I was getting rid of really old apples I had picked at the orchard that were not looking so good anymore, and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Everyone LOVED this dish. It was very easy to make and not something you can really mess up. I was in a rush and totally forgot to add spices and it still came out awesome. The only modification I made was doubling the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe! Easy, accurate and Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving, served with vanilla ice cream. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The flavor of the topping is great - I wondered about it when I saw there was no cinnamon in the recipe, but I didn't even miss it. I used a mixture of Splenda and brown sugar and for me, the topping ended up being too much/too sweet for the amount of apples, so I will simply decrease the sugar next time I make this. The walnuts added a really nice crunch, even though I don't normally like walnuts. Thanks for the recipe; I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
So good!!! Added a couple shakes of corn starch to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Perfectly tender and sweet apples that are balanced with just the right amount of cinnamon and spics. Great for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was my contribution to Thanksgiving dessert and it was very good. I made the following changes as suggested by other reviewers: used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of the nutmeg, used finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts and doubled the oats. I used a mixture of gala and granny smith apples. In my opinion, it tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a good recipe - in fact it's delicious "as is" but I would add cinnamon. One other thing you could add is a tiny bit of rum or rum flavoring. I've tasted Apple Crisp with rum flavoring and it's just a bit richer. I think the water is needed for five cups. Also I happen to think the ratio of crisp to apples should be a big higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States