Nutmeg Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This recipe is for someone who appreciates unusual flavors. A few things of note: One, the kind of mushrooms you use will make or break this dish, so don't use white buttons for this. Instead, use brown crimini (baby bella) or portabella mushrooms as they have more flavor. Two, buy whole nutmeg from the bulk spices (not the overpriced jars) at your grocer and grate it yourself. This makes a world of difference in taste. Three, consider sauteeing in a little butter or olive oil like I do before adding wine and nutmeg, and reducing the amount of good sweet white wine to 1/4 cup, also reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. Don't use a dry or cheap wine. I toss in a pinch of cinnamon, and everyone loves it! Remember: garbage in, garbage out. If you use plain or poor quality ingredients, you get a poorly tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Greenfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Make it smell better and most importantly taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very good, however I sauteed pearl onions and the mushrooms in olive oil. I also reduced the amount of wine to an 1/8 cup which I then reduced in the same pan as the onions and mushrooms. I added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of cinnamon. A pinch of salt to enhance the sweetness. It's a nice side or topping. If you don't care for the sweetness of white, then use red. This recipe is definitely for sophisticated taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The smell alone was enough for us to not even eat these, and we don't normally waste food either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I agree with what others said - this was a pretty awful-tasting recipe. I didn't throw it out, since I hate to waste food, but it was an ordeal to finish it. It's surprising how three good-tasting ingredients combine to make something that tastes so bad. I was thinking that maybe the choice of wine (I used a California chardonnay) made a difference, but I doubt it. Even The Woman I Love, who says she LOVES nutmeg, didn't even want to hear any more about this recipe once I mentioned it. Sorry, I did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Gross...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I used good wine and gave this recipe the benefit of doubt but the previous review was right - nastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Good. Don't use too much wine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
NASTEY, NASTEY, NASTEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

All about Nutmeg

Learn all about the little brown seed with the big, big flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States